We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They just opened......so.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl
Ranked #63 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I suppose every opening hotel has its fair share of teething problems. The rooms were tiny but I guess that's to be expected. The views from our room were of the harbour and greater city bowl and were breathtaking. The main issues I had were with the fact that we have to pay extra for parking - tsogo sun needs to figure out a way to get parking paid for. Wifi connectivity was decent throughout, but there was still a lot of drilling and banging going on. I would say that the 1st batch of guests are going to have to deal with them for a little while longer. Breakfast was ok- and more suited to the businessman than holiday makers. No accomodation for halaal unlike the other sister hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Request a non-city facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SZavahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandresh S, General Manager at SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Valued guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your valuable feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the service lapses you experienced during your recent stay with us. I would like to assure you that we are working on improving our dining options to ensure better delivery. All construction work is now complete so there are no further noise disturbances.

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the new SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl, and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Chandresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

My stay at this property was definitely worthwhile. Staff are courteous, all amenities are modern and checking in and out is such a breeze. The rooms are comfortable and uncluttered with vwry modern fixtures. 14 Stories bar and pool on the roof is a definite must visit! The staff are always welcoming and the views are excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank JakezBikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandresh S, General Manager at SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your wonderful comments.

I am delighted that we delivered on your expectations, and look forward to welcoming you back to SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl in the near future.

Kind regards
Chandresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The hotel was over crowded, we were struggling to get seats for breakfast in the morning. We had to wait for other people to finish eating before w could have seats. The menu was almost the same every morning, if they can try and improve on that. My room didn't have a bath tub, it was only a shower and it was not easy for me since I was travelling with a child.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank tloum938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandresh S, General Manager at SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Valued guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your valuable feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor service you experienced during breakfast. I would like to assure you that we are working on improving the efficiency here to provide a higher level of service.

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the new SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl, and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Chandresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Having made use of the opening special, we were of the first paying gusts in the hotel as it opened on ur arrival. Little bits and pieces of finishing were being carried out at the 14th floor bar, but that did not impact on our enjoyment. The staff (every one we encountered from reception, waitrons, back of house, security were top class, friendly, efficient and a pleasure to interact with. One must be singled out, the Executive Sous Chef, Moses Tshabalala, who was willing to make me a humble bowl of oats with cinnamon for breakfast, despite the pass being inundated with breakfast orders. The next morning, once again in amidst of seemingly chaos in the peak breakfast service, once again he whipped up a bowl of oats for me. The best part was on the morning of our departure, when I went to the pass, he came up to me and said that the oats was already on and would be ready in a few minutes, and that was without me even ordering it! That is service excellence. The rooms are perfectly adequate and comfortable, the free wifi, although not lightning fast was more than adequate for what I needed, and the central location meant that access to wherever we were going was easy and without hassles. Parking in the secure undercover parking meant that vehicles are safe with very easy access into the hotel. We will be back for another stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank godfreyp214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandresh S, General Manager at SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your wonderful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize Moses. He is truly exceptional and we are delighted to have him in our team. We understand the importance of service in an environment where there is so much choice, and it is rewarding to hear that our staff is delivering on our promise.

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the new SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Chandresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This hotel far exceeded my expectations. I was pleasantly surprised by almost everything about this hotel, from its close proximity in the city center, to the comfortable room, to the modern bathroom, and the enormous freshly prepared breakfast. Everything was far more than I expected. The fresh smell of new tiles and carpets was everywhere and confirmed that the owners had pulled out all the stops to make this hotel a runaway success. I will certainly come back for more and more of the great hospitality that I received here.
Highly recommended to everyone, from the budget conscious to the well heeled. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank kogan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandresh S, General Manager at SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your wonderful comments.

It is really great to hear that we exceeded your expectations of the new hotel.

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the new SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Chandresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl
#70 of 110 in Cape Town Central
62 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#39 of 110 in Cape Town Central
453 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 110 in Cape Town Central
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
865 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1 355 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2 057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl

Address: 23 Buitengracht Street | Corner Buitengracht & Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 848 - R3 053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hottest new hotel in Cape Town city centre comprises 202 bright, modern and spacious bedrooms; standard rooms with queen size beds, family rooms each with 2 double beds, executive rooms & suites. After a busy day head to Vigour & Verve where great food and drinks are served all day long. Only minutes from the V&A Waterfront, the hotel has great connectivity with guest access to free WiFi throughout the property. Hip and fresh with a design edge, the bustling location of SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl inspires visitors to explore the city. The stylish 14 Stories Rooftop Bar is a welcome retreat for guests looking to relax in style and offers access to an outdoor pool deck overlooking Cape Town harbour and Lions Head. With panoramic views of Table Mountain the top floor located gym will satisfy guests looking to keep fit or work up an appetite before venturing out into the surrounding foodie district. The hotel has dedicated basement parking and meeting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing