We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 959)
Filter reviews
1 959 results
Traveller rating
1 598
233
67
28
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 598
233
67
28
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club nobu restaurant island suite reuben table mountain the main hotel high tea beautiful hotel oysters breakfast buffet south africa luxury hotel turn down service waterfront area our honeymoon fantastic stay water front
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 1 959 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The One and Only is one of the nicest places to stay in Capetown. It is right next to the waterfront and it had all the amenities you could want (spa, nice restaurants, gym, bar, pool, etc). The staff was amazing, always greeted us with a smile, and went above and beyond in all details. The rooms were large and clean, I can't say enough nice things, especially about the hospitality.

However, we forgot to lock our safe one day and had $2,000 US dollars stolen. It was partly our fault since we didnt lock it, but we also didnt expect anything would get stolen. We had a security member leave a note in the room saying it was unlocked and that they locked it. And we still had money missing, seems odd right - why write us a note saying you locked it when someone stole from it? Anyway, we reported it and then we had to ask the hotel security team everyday about the status. We figured it was a lost cause but still expected better followup. We talked with the manger and he did apologize for the theft and how it was communicated and handled.

We ended up leaving our laundry there and the staff was nice enough to launder it and have it sent to our next hotel (an hour away) without us asking which was an amazingly nice gesture for them to do.

So, besides losing 2K, it was an amazingly place. Maybe just make sure you lock the safe every time, which I am sure goes without saying,.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MayaB1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Maya B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtful review with us. While we are elated that you experienced a memorable and exceptional stay, we are sorry to hear about the unfortunate situation regarding the room safe. We hope that this did not take away too much from our impeccable service and beautiful scenery, and encourage you to contact us if you wish to further discuss your concerns. The next time you are planning a getaway, we would be honoured to welcome you back for an overall five-star experience.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

My first choice hotel when visiting Cape Town. Definitely the best hotel Cape Town has to offer. You won't go wrong. If you can afford it, stay here!. Best Location, walk into the VNA, surrounded by nightlight and awesome restaurants. Attention to detail by hotel and exceptional service ensures you will keep going back. Excellent restaurants at the hotel, huge breakfasts, excellent in room dining etc..
Rashin Maharaj

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rashin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Rashin M,

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your lovely review and loyalty to One&Only Cape Town. It is always a pleasure to welcome you, and we are delighted to know that you appreciate our impeccable service, delicious cuisine and excellent location. Should you need any assistance planning your next visit, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Excellent resort in an amazing city in a superb location run in a sublime way.WOW
The Vista bar is lovely a pleasure to relax in to have a drink and munch deliciousness,the pool area is great with more good food and unique service,the grounds are stunning..Chat with Tashwin Kalie the concierge and enjoy your vacation.He planned all our activities,our day trips,everything.Fabulous resort.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rhonaalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear rhonaalice,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your lovely review with us. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed an impeccable stay at One&Only Cape Town, complete with exquisite cuisine and exceptional service. The next time you are looking to get away, we would be honoured to welcome you back for another unforgettable experience.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

I can highly recommend this hotel to any traveller looking for a luxury hotel in the perfect location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront in Cape Town.

Spacious rooms, luxurious bedding with a pillow menu.

Breakfast spread is amazing & there is a special kids corner.

The kids club is awesomes as well as the spa.

Do not hesitate to book!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jua83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear jua83,

We are grateful for your kind words and recommendation of One&Only Cape Town. It was a pleasure to provide you with an all-around impeccable experience, from our luxurious private villas to our state-of-the-art amenities. On behalf of our entire staff, we look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay in our oasis in the heart of Cape Town.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Had the best time of our lives spending our honeymoon st the one and only Cape Town. Everything exceeded our expectations. The staff was extremely friendly and professional, always willing to help. The rooms and amenities were always clean and smelling fresh. The property itself is so relaxing with views that are just unrivaled. The resort is within walking distance to the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront and there is so much to do in the area. Concierge is extremely knowledgeable about what to do in the area depending upon what you are looking for. I even got sick during our stay and the staff called the doctor immediately upon request who came to attend to me within 15 minutes. Everything was simply fabulous!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Melissadaniellemora,

Congratulations and thank you for choosing to spend this joyous occasion with us! It was an honour to welcome you both to paradise for your honeymoon, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a memorable five-star experience. Whether for another special celebration or just to get away, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to One&Only Cape Town again soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews