We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and family friendly”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the One and Only Cape Town to celebrate our 9 year anniversary. We had a fantastic stay and felt pampered. We always travel with our daughter because the resort is family friendly. The hotel's attention to detail is first class.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank altheaa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear altheaa51,

Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us! It was an honour to read that you and your family were able to enjoy a bit of relaxation and pampering during your stay. Whether for another celebration or just to get away, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to One&Only Cape Town soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 1 705 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2017

The One and Only is one of the nicest places to stay in Capetown. It is right next to the waterfront and it had all the amenities you could want (spa, nice restaurants, gym, bar, pool, etc). The staff was amazing, always greeted us with a smile, and went above and beyond in all details. The rooms were large and clean, I can't say enough nice things, especially about the hospitality.

However, we forgot to lock our safe one day and had $2,000 US dollars stolen. It was partly our fault since we didnt lock it, but we also didnt expect anything would get stolen. We had a security member leave a note in the room saying it was unlocked and that they locked it. And we still had money missing, seems odd right - why write us a note saying you locked it when someone stole from it? Anyway, we reported it and then we had to ask the hotel security team everyday about the status. We figured it was a lost cause but still expected better followup. We talked with the manger and he did apologize for the theft and how it was communicated and handled.

We ended up leaving our laundry there and the staff was nice enough to launder it and have it sent to our next hotel (an hour away) without us asking which was an amazingly nice gesture for them to do.

So, besides losing 2K, it was an amazingly place. Maybe just make sure you lock the safe every time, which I am sure goes without saying,.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Maya B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtful review with us. While we are elated that you experienced a memorable and exceptional stay, we are sorry to hear about the unfortunate situation regarding the room safe. We hope that this did not take away too much from our impeccable service and beautiful scenery, and encourage you to contact us if you wish to further discuss your concerns. The next time you are planning a getaway, we would be honoured to welcome you back for an overall five-star experience.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

My first choice hotel when visiting Cape Town. Definitely the best hotel Cape Town has to offer. You won't go wrong. If you can afford it, stay here!. Best Location, walk into the VNA, surrounded by nightlight and awesome restaurants. Attention to detail by hotel and exceptional service ensures you will keep going back. Excellent restaurants at the hotel, huge breakfasts, excellent in room dining etc..
Rashin Maharaj

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rashin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rashin M,

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your lovely review and loyalty to One&Only Cape Town. It is always a pleasure to welcome you, and we are delighted to know that you appreciate our impeccable service, delicious cuisine and excellent location. Should you need any assistance planning your next visit, please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Excellent resort in an amazing city in a superb location run in a sublime way.WOW
The Vista bar is lovely a pleasure to relax in to have a drink and munch deliciousness,the pool area is great with more good food and unique service,the grounds are stunning..Chat with Tashwin Kalie the concierge and enjoy your vacation.He planned all our activities,our day trips,everything.Fabulous resort.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rhonaalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear rhonaalice,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your lovely review with us. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed an impeccable stay at One&Only Cape Town, complete with exquisite cuisine and exceptional service. The next time you are looking to get away, we would be honoured to welcome you back for another unforgettable experience.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

I can highly recommend this hotel to any traveller looking for a luxury hotel in the perfect location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront in Cape Town.

Spacious rooms, luxurious bedding with a pillow menu.

Breakfast spread is amazing & there is a special kids corner.

The kids club is awesomes as well as the spa.

Do not hesitate to book!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank jua83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Lyon01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear jua83,

We are grateful for your kind words and recommendation of One&Only Cape Town. It was a pleasure to provide you with an all-around impeccable experience, from our luxurious private villas to our state-of-the-art amenities. On behalf of our entire staff, we look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay in our oasis in the heart of Cape Town.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 129 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 393 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 841 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 820 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R7 520 - R19 452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing