We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel with Outstanding Service”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

It's our first visit to Cape Town and we are really pleased that we have chosen wisely to stay at One&Only. Decor, ambience, location and room size all excellent. Most memorable is the service. Absolutely outstanding! Whoever provided the training should be congratulated!

On the negative side, we booked a room with mountain view. We did get the view but we're given the lowest floor -- 1st. For the price we paid, we expected something better! Hence, is Hotel value for money? I wouldn't know until I visit next time and try another hotel of same price range!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MYKLW33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardLyon_01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear MYKLW33,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience at One&Only Cape Town. It has been our pleasure to host you for your first trip to Cape Town, and we are thrilled your expectations have been met by our wonderful staff and welcoming atmosphere. We are disappointed knowing your view was anything but perfect, but we are pleased that this did not detract from the five-star quality of your visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist in perfecting your next Cape Town holiday. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 209 of 1 737 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2017

Whether you're looking to explore Cape Town or just relax and allow yourself to be pampered, this is the venue. An idyllic setting on the fringe of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront with spectacular views of the Harbour and Table Mountain.
The friendly and efficient staff are trained to look after your every need and the two restaurants ( Nobu and Reubens ) boast a delectable selection of fine food.Their Spa and treatment rooms are good and the heated swimming pool on the central island is a nice spot to slow down with a few cocktails and a snack.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlanB640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardLyon_01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear AlanB640,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us thanks in part to our fantastic location and wonderful restaurants. It is lovely to know you were able to take advantage of these as well as our luxurious spa area while you were here. We hope to welcome you back soon for another five-star experience.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Simply exceptional!!! An oasis in the middle of Cape Town right at the V&A Waterfront. We stayed in a family room for two days and were simply wowed by the hotel, room size, friendly staff, delicious food and the wonderful pool area.
It was a fantastic way to end or trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 142dakshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardLyon_01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear 142dakshap,

It is heartwarming to know that you enjoyed such a wonderful stay with us. We are thrilled you appreciated both our spacious family room as well as our pool area. It was a pleasure to host you during your time in Cape Town, and we hope to welcome your family for another memorable stay in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

This was our first stay at a One and Only resort and it won't be the last. Wonderful staff. A good location within easy walking distance of a mall/shopping area and restaurants. Also easy walking distance to the boarding area for tours to Robben Island.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jgorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardLyon_01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Jgorran,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to One&Only Cape Town. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to a One&Only resort thanks to our wonderful service, central location and convenient access to the Robben Island ferry. It was a pleasure to welcome you, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Having never been to Cape Town before we decided to "push the boat out" booking this Hotel in spite of the hefty price tag especially as a safe bet particularly in terms of location. The room was described as having a Panoramic View of the Marina and this swung my decision. ( Unfortunately it didn't.....more on this later.)
The Hotel was lovely, nice comfortable rooms, staff and service impeccable. location perfect.. However:
It does have the feel of modern waterside development and it is surrounded by such like modern apartments. So for me, with or without the stunning Table Mountain views the setting has a slightly sterile feel.
That and a slight disappointment of the zero view from our balcony was compounded when just after our stay I re-read the room description which promised a Panoramic Marina View...something which by no stretch of the imagination did we have, not even so much as glimpse (See picture). Worth an email I thought....The Hotel quickly responded offering a free room upgrade on next stay ( nothing in other words). They upped the offer when they realised we had re-booked Cape Town flights for next year : 25% off 2018 process and a free upgrade. Unfortunately the discounted prices were still the same as we paid in March 2017.
Needless to say I think we can get better value elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check room descritpion as to what was offered. Our panoramic Harbour view did not exist.could have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SurreyRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardLyon_01, General Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear SurreyRobin,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience at One&Only Cape Town. I am happy that your overall experience was an extremely positive one, but am disappointed that you were unhappy with the view from your room.
I might dispute that a complimentary room upgrade is “nothing” and by holding the 2017 rates for 2018 we were offering a significant discount from our quoted 2018 prices which I hope you will still reconsider and take advantage of.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town next year.


Sincerely,

Richard Lyon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 149 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 441 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 856 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 7 250 - R 15 568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing