We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
One&Only Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
US$183
US$139
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$228
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$147
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$134
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1 816)
Filter reviews
1 816 results
Traveller rating
1 472
218
67
27
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 472
218
67
27
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubisland suitenobu restaurantreubentable mountainthe main hotelhigh teafour seasonsbeautiful hoteloystersnespresso machinebreakfast buffetsouth africaluxury hotelturn down servicemountain viewwaterfront area
Filter
Updating list...
868 - 873 of 1 816 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Went for afternoon tea. Served in the bar area so not very special. Hot food not so hot. When we enquired we were informed that that is the way it is prepared. Range of sweet dishes quite good. Overall experience very average in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank acbNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear acbNorthernIreland, It is very disappointing to learn that our afternoon tea experiences was not up to your expectations. As you well pointed out there are some areas for us to improve our product and service and we thank you for bringing this to our attention as one of our core values is to ensure that we constantly seek new ways to improve what we do. I will ensure that your comments are shared with my team to improve on our afternoon tea offering. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort. Sincerely, Robert Hatton Jones – Executive Manager Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

great location, right on the v&a waterfront, close to all major attractions, makes this resort unique of sorts. Great amenities within the resort and wonderful staff makes it a wonderful resort. They were always available and their kids room was a hit with our daughter. Bfast buffet was extensive and filling

Room Tip: table mountain views are very desirable. island rooms are great as well
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golgapoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear Golgapoo, Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the resort. It sounds like you and your family had an enjoyable vacation and we delighted to know that we contributed to making your stay a pleasant one. I will be sure to congratulate the team. Should your travels bring you back to Cape Town, we would be delighted to have you stay with us again. Sincerely, Dale Parkington - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We stayed here 4 nights during our honeymoon in March. I’ll start with the good:
-rooms are perfectly appointed
-cleaning staff was wonderful
- grounds are meticulously maintained
- Pool is relaxing and not crowded
-breakfast is outstanding
-Centrally located
-valet was able to pick up our bags in the room after we checked out and have them ready in our car several hours later
- beautiful view of Table Mountain

The bad (and individually these would not be frustrating but together annoyed me)
-very difficult getting service around the pool, lots of staff around doing things but not seeing if people around the pool would like a drink/lunch
-the spa lost my spa appointment for our arrival day (they did let us use the couple’s massage room with a Jacuzzi for free to make up for it)
-we filled out the breakfast card to have breakfast brought to our room the morning of our scuba dive at 6:45am. At 7am our food still did not arrive, we called and they said the card must have blown away. By now it was too late for them to make it because we had to leave but clearly this is not a good system if things can blow away.
- I asked the front desk to see if there were any cancellations for The Test Kitchen when we checked in but never heard from them whether it worked out or not.

All in all it was a very nice stay. I guess when you pay $700 US a night, you want things to be perfect and I was left wanting from the staff here.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seeshele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear Sheeshele, Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us at One&Only Cape Town. We were disappointed to learn of the negative aspects of your stay as we place great importance on exceeding expectations and creating memorable experiences, we are truly sorry to read that we did not manage this for your stay. I will certainly share your feedback with my team and ensure that this helps to enhance our service delivery at the hotel. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we I hope to welcome you back to One&Only Cape Town to show you the true hospitality which we are known. Sincerely, Dale Parkington – Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We sadly only stayed in this hotel one night before heading on to a wedding in franschhoek but it was the most wonderful amazing stay. Our room was huge with beautiful views of table mountain and an enormous bathroom. We were travelling with our 10year old daughter who found that the hotel had also given her a mini version of the bathrobes and slippers alongside ours! What a lovely touch.
The concierge service cannot be faulted. We only had 2 hours the next morning and we wanted to go to table mountain. So while we had their delicious rushed breakfast (so wish we had longer to spend that morning) he sorted out our tickets and had a cab waiting for us by the time we had finished!!
Dinner at Nobu was to die for. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

I am coming back to SA in August with my daughter before a karate competition (without my husband) and we will definitely be staying there as we feel so safe and looked after by everyone. Can't wait till August!!!

Rob, Emma & Poppy Chan-Paxton

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear Rob, Emma and Poppy Chan-Paxton, Thank you for your warm-hearted review. It sounds like you and the family had a great time! I was especially delighted to read that little Poppy appreciated her mini bathroom goodies! I look forward to introducing Poppy to our KidsOnly Club during your upcoming visit to the Resort. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town in August. Sincerely, Dale Parkington – Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

After a long flight from the UK we were greeted by helpful polite and very obliging staff, once checked my wife and I were taken on a personnel tour of the hotel grounds and facilities (Fantastic) then on to the room My wife and I have been fortunate through hard work to travel world wide, but seriously folks never stayed in a room with so much space and creature comforts, location is magic just a 5 safe minutes walk to the VA waterfront, the hotel hosts two restaurants Rueben's and Nobu which the food is excellent, I have never seen a breakfast spread like this in my life, the staff treat all guests the same whether you are very wealthy or not, we had a lot of questions so we ask the PR Lady Diane she was ace answered all of them, Monique who first to meet us who was lovely in fact thank you ladies. We are now in the process of going back to SA (More hard work) and WILL!!! be staying at the ONE an ONLY

Room Tip: All the rooms are great we had no trouble with noise etc
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear Ross, It was wonderful to read your positive review following your recent stay at the Resort. I was pleased to read about your dining experiences at Reuben’s and Nobu and happy that you found our facilities most ’fantastic’. I will be sure to congratulate the team, particularly Diana Romburgh our effervescent Guest Relations Manager who is always on hand to make our guests feel comfortable and spoilt. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to One&Only Cape Town. Sincerely, Dale Parkington – Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews