We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but....”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2015

Great breakfasts, excellent pool and fantastic location. But you would expect nothing less at these prices. We had some good examples of great service but our check-in was not satisfactory and by the time the customer service manager showed we were pretty frustrated. Food at Nobu was good but not great and service there adequate but not sparkling. Plenty of good restaurants on the waterfront and in town so would select these rather than eat in.

Room Tip: Try one overlooking the pool below and Table Mountain above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear Jezwick, Thank you your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Resort. I apologise for the experience you encountered at check-in and I assure you that this is not indicative of our usual standard. I will be addressing this with our Guest Relations team. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to show you a true reflection of our hospitality. Sincerely, Dale Parkington - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 801 of 1 737 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2015

Went for afternoon tea. Served in the bar area so not very special. Hot food not so hot. When we enquired we were informed that that is the way it is prepared. Range of sweet dishes quite good. Overall experience very average in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank acbNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear acbNorthernIreland, It is very disappointing to learn that our afternoon tea experiences was not up to your expectations. As you well pointed out there are some areas for us to improve our product and service and we thank you for bringing this to our attention as one of our core values is to ensure that we constantly seek new ways to improve what we do. I will ensure that your comments are shared with my team to improve on our afternoon tea offering. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort. Sincerely, Robert Hatton Jones – Executive Manager Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

great location, right on the v&a waterfront, close to all major attractions, makes this resort unique of sorts. Great amenities within the resort and wonderful staff makes it a wonderful resort. They were always available and their kids room was a hit with our daughter. Bfast buffet was extensive and filling

Room Tip: table mountain views are very desirable. island rooms are great as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golgapoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear Golgapoo, Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to the resort. It sounds like you and your family had an enjoyable vacation and we delighted to know that we contributed to making your stay a pleasant one. I will be sure to congratulate the team. Should your travels bring you back to Cape Town, we would be delighted to have you stay with us again. Sincerely, Dale Parkington - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We stayed here 4 nights during our honeymoon in March. I’ll start with the good:
-rooms are perfectly appointed
-cleaning staff was wonderful
- grounds are meticulously maintained
- Pool is relaxing and not crowded
-breakfast is outstanding
-Centrally located
-valet was able to pick up our bags in the room after we checked out and have them ready in our car several hours later
- beautiful view of Table Mountain

The bad (and individually these would not be frustrating but together annoyed me)
-very difficult getting service around the pool, lots of staff around doing things but not seeing if people around the pool would like a drink/lunch
-the spa lost my spa appointment for our arrival day (they did let us use the couple’s massage room with a Jacuzzi for free to make up for it)
-we filled out the breakfast card to have breakfast brought to our room the morning of our scuba dive at 6:45am. At 7am our food still did not arrive, we called and they said the card must have blown away. By now it was too late for them to make it because we had to leave but clearly this is not a good system if things can blow away.
- I asked the front desk to see if there were any cancellations for The Test Kitchen when we checked in but never heard from them whether it worked out or not.

All in all it was a very nice stay. I guess when you pay $700 US a night, you want things to be perfect and I was left wanting from the staff here.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seeshele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear Sheeshele, Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us at One&Only Cape Town. We were disappointed to learn of the negative aspects of your stay as we place great importance on exceeding expectations and creating memorable experiences, we are truly sorry to read that we did not manage this for your stay. I will certainly share your feedback with my team and ensure that this helps to enhance our service delivery at the hotel. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we I hope to welcome you back to One&Only Cape Town to show you the true hospitality which we are known. Sincerely, Dale Parkington – Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We sadly only stayed in this hotel one night before heading on to a wedding in franschhoek but it was the most wonderful amazing stay. Our room was huge with beautiful views of table mountain and an enormous bathroom. We were travelling with our 10year old daughter who found that the hotel had also given her a mini version of the bathrobes and slippers alongside ours! What a lovely touch.
The concierge service cannot be faulted. We only had 2 hours the next morning and we wanted to go to table mountain. So while we had their delicious rushed breakfast (so wish we had longer to spend that morning) he sorted out our tickets and had a cab waiting for us by the time we had finished!!
Dinner at Nobu was to die for. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

I am coming back to SA in August with my daughter before a karate competition (without my husband) and we will definitely be staying there as we feel so safe and looked after by everyone. Can't wait till August!!!

Rob, Emma & Poppy Chan-Paxton

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvanLill, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Dear Rob, Emma and Poppy Chan-Paxton, Thank you for your warm-hearted review. It sounds like you and the family had a great time! I was especially delighted to read that little Poppy appreciated her mini bathroom goodies! I look forward to introducing Poppy to our KidsOnly Club during your upcoming visit to the Resort. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town in August. Sincerely, Dale Parkington – Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 149 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 443 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 857 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 7 221 - R 15 379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing