We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the right choice - spent ages considering wide variety of dining options before deciding on this one -”
Review of City Grill

City Grill
Ranked #84 of 1 304 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Night three of our five night Cape Town stay and we wondered back and from amongst the various V&A restaurants before opting for the City Gill marginally over a nearby highly rated neighbour on the basis that it seemed to offer an excellent variety of no fuss and fancy dishes. While hubby went for mixed grill and creme brulee (both of which he enjoye, especially the mixed grill) it was traditional South African food all the way for me with bobotie and Cape brandy pudding accompanied by protea and hibiscus gin with cucumber tonic. Loved the bobotie andd the fact that you could add the chutney, banana and salsa to it yourself. Pudding was not so great, not bad, just for me not so "wow". I found the portion to be too large with the top possibly "overdone"!

This restaurant is clearly doing something right as from the moment we arrived at 7.30 pm until we left two hours later there was hardly an empty table and a steady flow of customers.

The cost of the meal for us both including drinks came to R708

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jennirAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the review.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1 230 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Will definitely go there again . Beautiful view of the harbor and all the yachts bobbing in the water . Staff friendly and service very good .

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Lutia2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the review. We appreciate, however confused why only 3 stars if you enjoyed and will go again.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Five of us are tonight and all had a different dish.
Ostrich kebab
Springbok (mine)
Fillet with pepper sauce
Steak Dianne
Burger (fussy teenager)
Every dish was superb. The end.
Seriously though it’s my first time having Springbok (Tesco don’t sell it (yet)) and I was blown away. Super tender and super delicious. Every other dish I’m told was fantastic and to be honest I tasted every one. Just wish we’d tried this place a week ago. Nonetheless we will return in a few days when we come back to Cape Town.
Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank iancX6805DX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the stunning review.
We appreciate the comments.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The restaurant is pleasant and the menu good. Service is average as our main courses came before we had finished our starters. I had spare ribs which were nit over supplied with meat. Starters good. We did not go back after one visit.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaoHaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

We are extremely disappointed to read that you only found our food to be average. We have been receiving top awards for our great food and service for many years. Would you be so kind as to mail us and provide us with more information. info@citygrill.co.za

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

The servers are nice. I ordered for the Haloumi and Avocado steak medium-well and it was so amazing! Definitely a must try entree in their course. The strawberry juice was a bit sour but it complemented the meal well. The ambiance both indoor and outside the restaurant is nice. I like that they offer a warm blanket esp. For the outdoor part where it can be chilly especially in the evening.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank sgartmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the stunning review.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Grill also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing