We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of City Grill

City Grill
Ranked #84 of 1 304 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!
Reviewed 10 December 2018 via mobile

Online booking was painless. Received reminders of our booking as well. Friendly staff from when we arrived. We were really treated as royalty. Great garlic roll started. We had the mushroom and the avo steak. Both of them were done to perfection and really great tasted. Sides are not included in the hefty price. We also receive a very nice desert for our special occasion. We will defnately recommend them and be back!!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank jaconiemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate the amazing feedback.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1 230 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

Booked a table for 7 to have dinner with family. The service was great and welcoming. Food was as excellent and the atmosphere was great, definitely worth a visit and will be back on our next visit to Cape Town.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank RossT123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the wonderful review.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2018

Very enjoyable meal. We ate inside as it was a chilly evening. Service was good and I had a great meal. The warthog skewers were really good. It was also one of the best creme brulees I have ever had. There was sport on the television but this sems the norm in South Africa. The sound was n't on so not intrusive

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LindaH7071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

Our 4th visit to City Grill to impress our friends. And we weren't dissapointed!
Still the best value for money, view and service reastaurant in the Waterfront according to us.
Our waiter Washington was superb again. Good humor and fast service. Everything you will expect from a good waiter.
Will definitely be back for more!
Well done City Grill for maintaining your high standards!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank VincentG2687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2018 via mobile

Serving a large variety of barbecued dishes, dried meat, as well as great appetisers. Plenty of South African specialities. I very much enjoyed the views of the Table Mountain from the outside part of the seating area. The staff were completely fantastic, super friendly and very efficient service. I did not visit at a particularly busy time of day so a great table and amazing service was definitely available. Try the biltong and the various local sausages.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank GWRfanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Grill also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing