We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak ”
Review of City Grill

City Grill
Ranked #90 of 1 298 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Great steak and service at the water front
Must try
Friendly staff
Busy place and good for groups and couples

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank nezar_talhah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

Thank you.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 1 210 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Can really recommend Gity Grill to you. From the first greeting at the door to the issuing of the bills , always a brilliant, experience. Food is excellent and of really great portions. Always presented in the most appetizing way. Guest are always delighted by the game meat and other South African specialties on offer.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Petro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the feedback.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Managed to get a good table with views of Table Mountain on a lovely warm evening.
l had a lovely big glass of Merlot £3! My cordon bleu chicken with rice was very nice tasty and hot, unfortunately my husband ordered steak which was cold and tough, he sent it back and got a very good replacement, but this meant we ate separately as mine would have got cold. Not much of an apology either.
Friendly staff but not sure they knew how to handle problems. Good value.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 941whirly_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the comments. We are sorry to hear that your food ordered was not correct and had to be replaced. We are furthermore extremely disappointed to hear that an apology from the manager did not materialise as this is standard practice within our restaurants.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

This is a a great place to enjoy your evening with friends or family.
We were served by an amazing lady called Sammy, her service is exceptional. I enjoyed the steak which was awesome. The food and the wine were awesome. I will definitely go back when I visit the water front.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Reubenkimani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the wonderful review.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our meal hear the meat skewer was delicious and good value. Unfortunately it was a little cool to sit outside and inside was fully booked, the staff set up a table on a sheltered spot and with a blanket we were toasty. The staff were friendly and helpful and made an unusual booking very enjoyable.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank lancsprop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing