We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in the heart of the V&A Waterfront ”
Review of City Grill

City Grill
Ranked #103 of 1 226 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Came here for early dinner with a friend. Staff friendly but not particularly well trained - they didn’t know their product - specials & their knowledge of their wines was almost non existent. It didn’t take from the experience completely tho as the steaks were excellent, as was the wine once we had navigated the list & consulted Platter’s guide fro our phones. Prices reasonable for the heart of the Waterfront.

1  Thank Marguerite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Reviewer

We love it when someone knows their meat and says it as it is. Our steaks are excellent and we are delighted that you enjoyed it.

See you again soon.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 1 130 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2018

The only reason I did not give this place a terrible rating is because the service was great, but the food... not so great! I ordered the ribs and chips at a whopping R235 (no size/weight specified on the menu), with a side of chips. I received a rack of ribs +/-400grams which looked good but when I started eating it, it had the texture of cured meat. Definitely some type of cure on it(salt peter or salted backing soda). It's actually could be the same ribs that you purchase at Checkers pre-marinated. Not fresh at all and who knows how long these ribs have been frozen or cured for. The chips tasted like it came out of a Burger king box. My wife had the steak and it was good,but not out of this world for the price you pay.

I would go again, but I'll stay far far away from the ribs.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. You sound like a man that calls a spade a spade. So, I guess we will do the same. All of the meat at City Grill Steakhouse is of the highest quality and grading. Firstly, we get so many compliments about our ribs, that it doesn’t even warrant a response. Our chips is cut fresh from potatoes each day, unlike many other restaurants around. We actually pride ourselves for this and constantly get positive comments about this. Lastly, our steaks are matured and always done to perfection. Please read all the other wonderful reviews on this site from the many happy guests. Perhaps your palate let you down on that specific evening. Such a pity you didn't say anything to us on the evening and rather reverted to complain on this site. We hope your next visit will be more to your liking.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Went here as a group and was not disappointed!

We were extremely well looked after by Tammy, the tempura prawns and the steaks were the clear shout out from all of us! Will definitely be back!!

Thank Carinna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the stunning review. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Food was very good and cooked to our preference.

The only detractor was the noise level inside which is loud so was difficult to have a normal conversation.

Service was very good.

Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Last minute decision to eat here. We both ordered rump. Waiting time not bad and steaks cooked to perfection. Reasonable helping of sides and very good service

Thank GaryvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the wonderful comment. It's great when you get someone in the restaurant that has a good palate.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing