We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Ribs”
Review of City Grill

City Grill
Ranked #103 of 1 228 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!
Reviewed 9 December 2015

A great little place situated amongst numerous other restaurants along the V & A (it's hard to see where one finishes and the next one starts). Good food and great prices they even have some blankets if it starts to get a bit chilly outside. A nice place to sit and watch the world go by.
Starter, main and a few beers for £15 - £20 per head

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chefchrisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrynieuwoudtcg, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are extremely happy that you had a pleasant experience at our restaurant. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 351 of 1 130 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2015

We ate here twice when we were in Cape Town. The food and service were excellent (especially the fillet steak!).

Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrynieuwoudtcg, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the wonderful support. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience so much that you dined with us twice.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Simply the best fillet steak we have ever eaten anywhere in the world, and we used to run a steakhouse!
2 starters 2x fillets and a side order a premium bottle of red and all for under £40 =amazing
Knowledgeable, helpful servers
Thank you!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1507jcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrynieuwoudtcg, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted to read that you had a great experience with us.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Intrigued by all the game meat choices! Settled for Crocodile kebabs and they were tasty indeed. Had a couple of glasses of South African Wine (Leopards Leap) for approximately $3.50 each. Enjoyed the meal. Service was great, evenings after 7:30 the restaurant was full and festive. Great view of the waterfront lights and activities below. Reasonable, pleasant and good! Forget what hubby had to eat but he enjoyed it too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank milosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrynieuwoudtcg, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant experience at our establishment. We hope to see you back here soon.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We went to City Grille on a Monday night. The outdoor seating area gives a great view of the wharf area, which is a nice place to walk around and shop, while also having good lighting and heating to maintain a comfortable space for a meal.

However, the food reduced the quality of the evening. We tried a variety of different meats, which were unique to us Americans, but we felt after trying them that the food's preparation likely weakened the quality of the meats.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrynieuwoudtcg, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the feedback. We are disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your main meal as we pride ourselves in the quality of our food. We will investigate what went wrong on the night.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing