We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Silo Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$139
US$118
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$866
US$846
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$141
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$147
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
103
23
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
23
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargranary restaurantviews of cape townmuseum of contemporary artspectacular hotelcharcuteriehigh teabirkenhead housereserved for hotel gueststomato tartla residenceunique boutique hoteltable mountaingeneral managersparkling winetop floorpool area
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

The hotel is so very unique! The views are stunning and the staff was so accommodating! We will return! The rooftop bar and pool were fantastic! The location of the hotel made it easy to walk around the waterfront and explore the city.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

This is the new hot spot in Cape Town and we have been there three times during our stay in SA. The building is fantastic , an old grain silo converted to a spectacular hotel and art gallery. Windows are incredible. We ate at the main restaurant to begin with and it was a nice experience. Food ok.
We then returned and had drinks and light lunch at the roof bar. Wonderful view and nice place to be but food very mediocre. On our second visit my wife's food was very poor and I would suspect was just a reheated dish. We were asked how the food was and my wife did say exactly what she thought of it and while polite the manager said he would inform the kitchen , which I suspect is several floors below.

Staff were very friendly and the venue spectacular, but not a gastronomic experience

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank harryhornetHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

It's a rare experience to feel one's lower jaw heading for the floor on entering a hotel room – even a room costing north of 1000 GBP per night. Of course, it helped that we'd been generously upgraded to an even larger suite on account of choosing The Silo Hotel to celebrate our 30th relationship anniversary. As soon as you enter the hotel, there's a feeling of being ensconced in the nicest way possible by luxury. One can get that in other hotels – or travelling first class with Emirates – but The Silo Hotel hits exactly the right spot in its delivery, with seamless attention to detail and natural friendliness from the 128 members of staff. Where else would one encounter a smiling chef in the lift who knew our names and was happy to show us to the rooftop for a spot of sunbathing?

The design of the hotel is utterly breath-taking, which is due to the visionary genius of the British designer Thomas Heatherwicke who transformed unused and unloved granary silos into an architectural classic. The lantern-inspired windows, bulging out towards Table Mountain behind and the V&A Waterfront in front, are incredible. So, too, is the interior design that's different in every one of the 28 rooms and includes a rich panoply of South African art reflecting the talent on display in the MOCAA Zeist museum on the lower floors of the building.

In such a unique building it would have been tempting to over-gild the lily and put someone like Heston Blumenthal in charge of the kitchen. Instead the food is straightforwardly inventive and still middle-priced, ditching any pretension of silver service or off-putting obsequiousness. A delicious seafood biryani with crunchy tobacco onions was as good as anything I’ve eaten anywhere. Breakfast was just as good, with a tempting tower of fruits, yoghurt, granola, cheeses, smoked salmon and meats brought to the table, followed by superbly executed hot options. I don’t think I could master making their soufflé omelette in a month of Sundays.

Yes, The Silo Hotel is expensive, but we actually thought it was worth it. Everyone deserves this sort of pampering once in a while.

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank DGEKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Unfortunately, we had only one night at The Silo (had already booked another hotel in Cape Town for the end of our South Africa trip), but it was a lovely way to start our vacation. We have stayed in many beautiful hotels around the world, but the décor and unique architecture of The Silo, combined with the views of Table Mountain, really make this one stand out (our favorite room -- EVER!) The service is similarly flawless. We also very much enjoyed dinner at The Granary. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristab818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Breathtaking remodel of the old grain silo that stood barren for decades in the Waterfront Harbour.

The best hotel service I have ever received and goes to prove why The Silo Hotel has been voted the best boutique hotel in the word.

Decor has been so carefully chosen and placed to create an amazing experience whether in one of their luxurious rooms or at the restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ross J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews