We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, stylish design, great service ”
Review of The Silo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Silo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We used the Silo hotel for a small group conference over two days. Breathtaking rooftop cocktail lounge overlooking the waterfront, delicious food in the restaurant and excellent service overall. Not an inexpensive destination but the quality is worth it.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is so very unique! The views are stunning and the staff was so accommodating! We will return! The rooftop bar and pool were fantastic! The location of the hotel made it easy to walk around the waterfront and explore the city.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the new hot spot in Cape Town and we have been there three times during our stay in SA. The building is fantastic , an old grain silo converted to a spectacular hotel and art gallery. Windows are incredible. We ate at the main restaurant to begin with and it was a nice experience. Food ok.
We then returned and had drinks and light lunch at the roof bar. Wonderful view and nice place to be but food very mediocre. On our second visit my wife's food was very poor and I would suspect was just a reheated dish. We were asked how the food was and my wife did say exactly what she thought of it and while polite the manager said he would inform the kitchen , which I suspect is several floors below.

Staff were very friendly and the venue spectacular, but not a gastronomic experience

Stayed: February 2018
Thank harryhornetHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's a rare experience to feel one's lower jaw heading for the floor on entering a hotel room – even a room costing north of 1000 GBP per night. Of course, it helped that we'd been generously upgraded to an even larger suite on account of choosing The Silo Hotel to celebrate our 30th relationship anniversary. As soon as you enter the hotel, there's a feeling of being ensconced in the nicest way possible by luxury. One can get that in other hotels – or travelling first class with Emirates – but The Silo Hotel hits exactly the right spot in its delivery, with seamless attention to detail and natural friendliness from the 128 members of staff. Where else would one encounter a smiling chef in the lift who knew our names and was happy to show us to the rooftop for a spot of sunbathing?

The design of the hotel is utterly breath-taking, which is due to the visionary genius of the British designer Thomas Heatherwicke who transformed unused and unloved granary silos into an architectural classic. The lantern-inspired windows, bulging out towards Table Mountain behind and the V&A Waterfront in front, are incredible. So, too, is the interior design that's different in every one of the 28 rooms and includes a rich panoply of South African art reflecting the talent on display in the MOCAA Zeist museum on the lower floors of the building.

In such a unique building it would have been tempting to over-gild the lily and put someone like Heston Blumenthal in charge of the kitchen. Instead the food is straightforwardly inventive and still middle-priced, ditching any pretension of silver service or off-putting obsequiousness. A delicious seafood biryani with crunchy tobacco onions was as good as anything I’ve eaten anywhere. Breakfast was just as good, with a tempting tower of fruits, yoghurt, granola, cheeses, smoked salmon and meats brought to the table, followed by superbly executed hot options. I don’t think I could master making their soufflé omelette in a month of Sundays.

Yes, The Silo Hotel is expensive, but we actually thought it was worth it. Everyone deserves this sort of pampering once in a while.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank DELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately, we had only one night at The Silo (had already booked another hotel in Cape Town for the end of our South Africa trip), but it was a lovely way to start our vacation. We have stayed in many beautiful hotels around the world, but the décor and unique architecture of The Silo, combined with the views of Table Mountain, really make this one stand out (our favorite room -- EVER!) The service is similarly flawless. We also very much enjoyed dinner at The Granary. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristab818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 738 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 151 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 444 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#33 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silo Hotel

Address: Silo Square | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 13 114 - R 28 062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Silo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silo Hotel is a magical space towering above the V&A Waterfront surrounded by the natural wonder of South Africa’s Mother City. The Silo has been built in the grain elevator portion of the historic grain silo complex occupying six floors above the Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa (MOCAA). Zeitz MOCAA is a contemporary art museum that rivals the likes of the Tate Modern in London, MoMA in New York and Museo Nacional del Prado in Madrid. Zeitz MOCAA is a not-for-profit partnership between the V&A Waterfront and Jochen Zeitz, whose collection forms the Museum’s founding collection. The building has been designed by Thomas Heatherwick, Founder and Principal of the London-based Heatherwick Studio. Heatherwick Studio was tasked with the transformation of the elevator house and the adjacent storage annex of six rows of seven silos, while carefully retaining its cultural significance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Silo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing