We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel I've ever visited”
Review of The Silo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Silo Hotel
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 4 October 2017

World-class hotel. Our room was breathtaking (Deluxe Superior Room). Decor of both our room and hotel simply amazing - very eclectic and fun design. Services and amenities were fantastic; awesome breakfast room & food, first-rate spa, excellent bar (shout out to the wine connoisseur bartender Tinashe and Lynton!) and rooftop lounge (stunning views of Table Mountain). Excellent part of town with easy access to city's incredible restaurants (Jess and Hoon very helpful concierge). Zeitz Mocca museum right next door was also great. Could not recommend more.

Room Tip: Deluxe Superior Room was nicest hotel room I've ever laid eyes on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We loved the unique place, the decor, the restaurant views, the amazing and delicate food, the service so much during our first visit that We had to go back the next day! Irene was so friendly and attentive. We felt welcomed the moment we stepped in. Drinks were delicious as well as the food. Kabelo served our food the first day. What a friendly guy! The next day Katlego was our waiter. Great service. We can't wait to go back to Cape Town.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nevalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We had a special birthday treat in mind and the High Tea @Silo hit the right button. We had to book well in advance but it was sòooooo worth it.
The place is jaw drop stunning. From the moment you walk in till after sun set.
The whole experience was fantastic... our sweet and savory treats were delicious and more than enough. They spoiled us with complimentary bubbles
We didn't want to leave and moved over to the bar for a final Gin cocktail... sunset is breathtaking ‼️
I want to go back now

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank RHINO10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

This has to be the most unique and spectacular hotel on the African continent today. This hotel will surely make the Top 100 hotels of the world list. The staff is outstanding , and each and every staff member makes one feel like family. Thank you to Fatima who was a FANTASTIC host. If anyone complains about the staff of this hotel, it is the guest's own fault. Liz Biden did a fantastic job with the decor, and the most impressive feature of the hotel is the Thomas Heatherwick windows. The windows received instant iconic status ! Be sure to visit the Silo Hotel and experience the ultimate in luxury atop grain silos which was built in 1906. When the Zeitz MOCAA art museum opens downstairs, this will be THE destination in Cape Town. Treat yourself to this experience !!

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday and were blown away by the service and friendliness! The suite was huge and had epic views of the waterfront and table mountain! My wife is a Hotel Manager for a famous property in Uruguay, so was greatly impressed. We loved the food at Beau Constantia & Pot Luck Club and think that this type of theme would do very well at the Silo. The wine list was spot on and loved the wines by glass, which is always key if your spouse does not drink. We will be back for a week next time!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hammies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 738 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 151 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 444 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silo Hotel

Address: Silo Square | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 13 008 - R 27 955 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Silo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silo Hotel is a magical space towering above the V&A Waterfront surrounded by the natural wonder of South Africa’s Mother City. The Silo has been built in the grain elevator portion of the historic grain silo complex occupying six floors above the Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa (MOCAA). Zeitz MOCAA is a contemporary art museum that rivals the likes of the Tate Modern in London, MoMA in New York and Museo Nacional del Prado in Madrid. Zeitz MOCAA is a not-for-profit partnership between the V&A Waterfront and Jochen Zeitz, whose collection forms the Museum’s founding collection. The building has been designed by Thomas Heatherwick, Founder and Principal of the London-based Heatherwick Studio. Heatherwick Studio was tasked with the transformation of the elevator house and the adjacent storage annex of six rows of seven silos, while carefully retaining its cultural significance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Silo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing