We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Silo Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$147
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$134
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$121
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$873
US$846
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
103
23
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
23
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargranary restaurantmuseum of contemporary artviews of cape townla residencespectacular hotelcharcuteriehigh teabirkenhead housereserved for hotel gueststomato tartroyal suitebooking essentialunique boutique hoteltable mountainsouth african experiencegeneral manager
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We loved the style and comfort. The views are spectacular and creative architecture making this an icon in the Cape Town Waterfront ! The service was outstanding, food creative and will definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sunnySA-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

The Silo is a wonderful add to the Cape Town hotel choices. General Manager Lewis and the staff welcomed us and check in was a breeze.

Our trip was made extra special from the Guest Relations Manager Hoon Kim's recommendations for visiting the city. We loved our room. The décor is spectacular, the rooms well furnished, very comfortable bedding, radiant heat in the bathroom. Automated blinds in the room softened the sunlight. The area around the hotel is still under construction, as is the Museum of Contemporary Art.

Breakfast was included at the Granary Restaurant. Individual triple table trays hold various fruits, meats, yogurt and other cold choices. Menu is available if hot breakfast is preferred. Smoothies are on offer at the beginning of the meal.

Airport transfer arranged by hotel was flawless. We were met at airport by a representative to direct us to check in and the security line.

Roof top is very much a happening place in the local market. Reservations required. Rooftop pool has a see through side. I'd book here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philatour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The Silo is located in the administrative building of the old Silo right by the V&A Waterfront. The actual attached Silos are being turned into the new museum of contemporary art (opens in September 2017). The location is right next to the waterfront with tons of shops, restaurants and attractions.

Check-in: 6th floor lobby - 2 minutes. Greeted by General Manager, Concierge and the whole staff.

Room: AWESOME. We got a 2 bedroom, 2 level suite. The living room with panoramic views of the City, Table Mountain and Waterfront. The entire suite was well decorated as one would expect from Liz Biden. Massive master bath suite with huge tub looking out at the mountain and waterfront, walk in shower, double sinks etc. etc. etc.

Service: Fantastic. The concierge (I'm sorry I forgot his name) was amazing - had us going all over the city for art galleries, restaurants, coffee and museums. You can Uber in Cape Town for next to nothing. A half hour ride to Camps Bay in rush hour was less than $10. Make sure to check out the Old Biscuit Mill market and shops - cool galleries in that area. District 6 Museum is educational. Best deals for traditional african necklaces, bowls and bracelets was at the downtown open markets... good selection at V&A stores - but a bit pricier.

Food: Ate breakfast at the restaurant every day. Get the fresh basket of pastries (the chocolate ones are a must), yoghurt, berries, meats - you name it they got it. Same great service. Had dinner there as well.

Rooftop: Again, 360 degree views of the city - reserved for hotel guests first. Restaurant and bar up there as well - local hot spot. There is also a transparent rooftop pool if you have the desire.

Room Tip: If you can try one of the 2 level suites - I think our room was 702 - great views!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeachMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

The Silo is a standout. An architectural masterpiece with the most incredible interior decor I've ever seen. The colors and style - the ample space, high ceilings - it all WOW'd me. I have seen many hotels in my life, but this one is a definite favorite.
Don't forget to head to the rooftop where you'll see a very cool pool and an even cooler bar scene, not the mention the most fabulous views of the waterfront, the city and Table Mountain!
The Silo is a MUST for all heading to SA!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful. It depends on what specific needs you have.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

My husband and I rounded out our South African, Royal Portfolio stay at The Silo in May. The room was exquisite, quite possibly one of the most spectacular rooms we have ever stayed in - and that is saying a lot. Amenities, furnishings, lighting, decor, bedding, views... we were surrounded by a supremely elevated level of luxury. In fact, the room was so plush and luxurious (room 902) we began rethinking the decor and comfort of our own home back in New York and began discussing remodeling... the chandeliers are incredible!

Housekeeping was flawless, and each day the room was tended to like we were never there.

Yet, I regret to say that once we left the sublime comfort of our suite, the zen quickly vaporized. The bar on the 11th floor along with the restaurant on 6 (The Willaston Bar), was total chaos. We were virtually invisible, with little to no service. The service we did receive was greatly flawed. The only exception was breakfast each morning which was fantastic.

The elevators were jam packed with locals "having a look", and scarcely available for hotel guests like ourselves. I must be fair and mention this was during the May Day holiday, and it seemed all of Cape Town was on holiday and visiting The Silo... yet still, service was so shockingly subpar from the other Royal Portfolio stays, it was quite a disappointment.

On one evening, while in the elevator - we were asked by a manager (Irene) to present our room keys, then she insisted we state aloud our room number in front of 8 strangers (while standing inside the jam-packed elevator). She then notified us someone would be up shortly to confirm that we were indeed in that room. We were quite appalled. Guests should not be subject to this treatment - and we were the ONLY true guests in the entire elevator! We had spent a handsome sum as patrons of the Royal Portfolio (at 3 properties), now we were being treated as suspicious trespassers. Surely just mismanaged intentions, however - we were put off.

I have complete confidence that The Silo will sort out these issues, as I have a deep love and appreciation for the other parts of our Royal Portfolio stay, and the level of service at which the Biden team holds their service standards. Just make sure you are prepared to buffer some of your expectations on service while they get things sorted out.

Room Tip: Corner suites are outstanding!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank ScentCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews