We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected delightful lunch on a sunny winter day in Cape Town V&A Waterfront”
Review of Life Grand Cafe

Life Grand Cafe
Ranked #288 of 1 253 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Atmosphere - beautiful - an inside table with a view is what was asked for and received.
Looking out over the harbour with yachts and motor launches coming in to moor. Service was super friendly, helpful smiling waiters, kept coming back to check on our status without being intrusive or a nuisance. The perfect combination of great service.
Food - exceptional even though this is not fine dining. The quality of food is superb, the menu has something to suit everyone. For those into healthy low carb meals there is fish cooked, ceviche and sushi to choose from, salads and crudo (raw). There is meat as carpaccio or cooked - think pork belly cooked for hours on end. Fries, creamy potato and sweet potato on the menu for those who would like. We were all extremely happy with our menu choices and even though we had a doubting Thomas to begin with, the end result was happiness on all fronts. Delicious, innovative cuisine packed with flavour. Talented chefs work here. No complaints whatsoever. Keep it up Life Grand Cafe. We'll be back....

Thank lgriffiths2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

What a delight. Had the blueberry mojito just to try something new and absolutely loved it. Lovely place to meet young vibrant people

Thank portiamashile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We spent Father's Day day at this wonderful restaurant. The booking process was very organized, the food amazing and the setting absolutely beautiful. Highly recommended for a classy yet chilled experience with great attention to detail

Thank CapeTownTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

The worst thing you could imagine and it actually happened. My Girlfriend had pasta and I had sushi. While in the midst of enjoying our meal she started crunching on somthing. What she pulled out of her mouth was a piece of glass and later had to pull out a few more smaller pieces. Went straight to the manager and all I got was an apology. I was still made to pay for our bill. All I can say is never again. Don't even think I'll go to the one in waterfall anymore if this is how it is. I'll stick to Kreme thanks

Thank Bmm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabu_Katsande1, Manager at Life Grand Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hi
Firstly we would like to apologize profusely for the miscommunication and for the way that you were treated.
We continuously endeavour to exceed guests expectation and clearly in this case we fell short of our own goals.
The matter will be dealt with and rectified immediately.
Please allow me to invite you back to LIFE GRAND CAFE WATERFALL for a lunch/dinner for two.
Please do not hesitate to ask for me, Jabu, As i will deal with your reservation personally.
We always strive towards giving our guests amazing service and we really hope we will be able to win you back and create a loyal guest from this unfortunate experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

A wide menu, with nice options. Tasty food and a quick service.
The staff is attentive and gentle. It was really a good option. Good team!

Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Life Grand Cafe also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Life Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing