We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dock House Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$183
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$856
US$836
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
191
15
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
15
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen victoriafirst floorsister hotelbeautifully decorated bedroomperfect breaksunbathing areadash restaurantspecial place to staybedside tableprivate patiocape wheelferris wheelbreakfast roomour honeymoonhuge bathroomthe ground flooron arrival
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We arrived in Cape Town five days ago and coming to this hotel which after a twelve hour flight was like heaven.
The staff are truly wonderful, nothing is too much trouble for any of them.
They have six rooms and happy to find ours was a suite, with sitting room, bedroom, bathroom and private terrace. It's quiet, relaxing and the manager Michelle is very nice. Their sister hotel across the courtyard is the Victoria and Alfred, a bigger hotel where we tried for breakfast one morning but preferred the intimacy of The Dock House.
It's location is perfect a short walk to the Waterfront with all of its exciting activities. Would thoroughly recommend if you are looking for a quiet but special place to stay.

Room Tip: The suite is perfect
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WatfordLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle_Fourie, General Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Lizzie
It gives me great joy when I see reviews such as yours. We are lucky to be in the hustle and bustle of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, yet tucked away from it all. Thank you for the wonderful commentary and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent, large comfortable bedroom with balcony overlooking the pool and garden, with views of the ferris wheel. Furnished to a high standard. We have our own staircase and the most wonderful bathroom. Service is second to non, everyone is so helpful and friendly.
Had a super time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rosie590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle_Fourie, General Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Rosie

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel. We pride ourselves in our service offering to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Tucked away in an obscure corner on elevated grounds overlooking the V&A Waterfront, Dock House offered a truly unique and luxurious experience especially when we arrived not knowing what to expect with this being our first visit to Cape Town. Our needs were served down to the tiniest details and the staff absolutely spoilt us. The hotel offers a modern twist with plenty of old world charm. The balcony in our room provided a stunning view of the waterfront especially in the early evening. The bed offered heavenly comfort and the bathroom was thoughtfully laid out with every needs of the guests carefully addressed. The breakfast room was one of the most comfortable I have ever experienced while the continental style buffet spread was carefully selected with a mix of healthy options next to the more typically bakery options. With a total of six rooms in the entire building, the level of personal attention was second to none. I will definitely stay at Dock House again if I ever return to Cape Town. I would highly recommend this to any discerning traveller looking for a different sort of experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank H9501VYkevinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle_Fourie, General Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Kevin
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are absolutely ecstatic that we could be a part of making your first visit to our beautiful city that much more special.

Do get in touch with me on your next visit!

Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We were booked into the V&A, but on our arrival were upgraded to the Dock House for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon. The Dock House was just the most perfect start to our honeymoon. The room and view were spectacular and the service amazing. We would recommend a stay at the Dock House to anyone. If you want a view of the Waterfront, ask for a room on the first floor.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LSto1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, General Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this review of your recent stay at Dock House. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon with us in the romantic setting that Dock House creates.

With Dock House being an intimate property we do pride our self on our personal service and will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

From the initial arrival, where we were welcomed as we parked in front of the hotel, to the final au revoir as we departed, the staff could not have been more attentive.
The room and large en-suite were very clean and the view of the wheel from the balcony was very acceptable.
The location of the Dock House Boutique Hotel is perfect, just on the edge of the V&A so all the attractions are within walking distance.
We would recommend it every time.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zabrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews