We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dock House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #54 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

We arrived in the afternoon after a long flight via Johannesburg from London and instantly felt relaxed and at home. We filled in the usual hotel paperwork in the hotel ‘reception area’ totally unaware that we were actually in the living room which along with a huge bedroom, hall and bathroom all constituted our ‘room’. It was basically a huge apartment and if you’re going and it’s free, ask for room 1. We loved everything here: directly opposite the waterfront yet very quiet. Spotlessly clean, beautiful breakfast and more than anything, the staff were really really lovely and welcoming. I can’t recommend this hotel enough as it is a renovated historical house (which belonged to the dock master) and it ticks every box. The pool area looked great but we were too busy to use it!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brummy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle_Fourie, General Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Brummy

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this review of your recent stay at Dock House. With Dock House being an intimate property we do pride ourselves on our personal service, providing a home away from home to our guests. Hopefully you will have more time available on your next visit to make use of the pool area.

Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

We arrived in Cape Town five days ago and coming to this hotel which after a twelve hour flight was like heaven.
The staff are truly wonderful, nothing is too much trouble for any of them.
They have six rooms and happy to find ours was a suite, with sitting room, bedroom, bathroom and private terrace. It's quiet, relaxing and the manager Michelle is very nice. Their sister hotel across the courtyard is the Victoria and Alfred, a bigger hotel where we tried for breakfast one morning but preferred the intimacy of The Dock House.
It's location is perfect a short walk to the Waterfront with all of its exciting activities. Would thoroughly recommend if you are looking for a quiet but special place to stay.

Room Tip: The suite is perfect
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WatfordLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle_Fourie, General Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Lizzie
It gives me great joy when I see reviews such as yours. We are lucky to be in the hustle and bustle of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, yet tucked away from it all. Thank you for the wonderful commentary and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent, large comfortable bedroom with balcony overlooking the pool and garden, with views of the ferris wheel. Furnished to a high standard. We have our own staircase and the most wonderful bathroom. Service is second to non, everyone is so helpful and friendly.
Had a super time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rosie590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle_Fourie, General Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Rosie

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel. We pride ourselves in our service offering to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Tucked away in an obscure corner on elevated grounds overlooking the V&A Waterfront, Dock House offered a truly unique and luxurious experience especially when we arrived not knowing what to expect with this being our first visit to Cape Town. Our needs were served down to the tiniest details and the staff absolutely spoilt us. The hotel offers a modern twist with plenty of old world charm. The balcony in our room provided a stunning view of the waterfront especially in the early evening. The bed offered heavenly comfort and the bathroom was thoughtfully laid out with every needs of the guests carefully addressed. The breakfast room was one of the most comfortable I have ever experienced while the continental style buffet spread was carefully selected with a mix of healthy options next to the more typically bakery options. With a total of six rooms in the entire building, the level of personal attention was second to none. I will definitely stay at Dock House again if I ever return to Cape Town. I would highly recommend this to any discerning traveller looking for a different sort of experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank H9501VYkevinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle_Fourie, General Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Kevin
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are absolutely ecstatic that we could be a part of making your first visit to our beautiful city that much more special.

Do get in touch with me on your next visit!

Regards
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We were booked into the V&A, but on our arrival were upgraded to the Dock House for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon. The Dock House was just the most perfect start to our honeymoon. The room and view were spectacular and the service amazing. We would recommend a stay at the Dock House to anyone. If you want a view of the Waterfront, ask for a room on the first floor.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LSto1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan W, General Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this review of your recent stay at Dock House. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon with us in the romantic setting that Dock House creates.

With Dock House being an intimate property we do pride our self on our personal service and will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

Kind Regards

Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#16 of 112 in Cape Town Central
753 reviews
0,3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 149 reviews
0,9 km away
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,1 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 614 reviews
0,5 km away
The Silo Hotel
The Silo Hotel
#22 of 112 in Cape Town Central
102 reviews
0,5 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock House Boutique Hotel

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 4 639 - R 8 556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dock House Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cape Town address that is suited perfectly to your needs. Dock House Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and opulent jewel in the crown of Cape Town's glamorous, world-famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, offering discerning guests, visiting dignitaries and celebrities exclusive accommodation and personalised yet unobtrusive butler-style service in an excellent world-class setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dock House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dock House Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing