We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
208
15
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
15
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first floor sister hotel perfect break sanctuary spa balcony overlooking special place to stay dash restaurant ferris wheel bedside table cape wheel our honeymoon breakfast room sitting room beautiful room fabulous stay wine country bottle of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2015

A friend found the Dock House and what a find. Only 6 rooms but each one uniquely charming. We were warmly greeted by all the Staff and it was so nice to have a cold bottle of champagne waiting in our room. What sets the place apart is the personalized service from GM Craig Kirby who took the time to get to know us and went out of his way to understand our interests and make our stay special. A beautiful garden outside the rooms with a gate that drops you right into the V&A Waterfront - just what we wanted. Rooms were large and well appointed. Continental breakfast was offered at 2 additional properties if we wanted to check out some other places. We would definitely return.

Room tip: All rooms we saw were unique, spacious and overlooked the Waterfront
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Dear Scott H,

“Thank you for taking the time to write a review for future travellers. We are delighted to read that you found some peace in the beauty of the hotel's grounds and that you had a lovely journey with us. In a world where luxury has become a crucial requirement to the distinguished traveller, it’s important that luxury hotels maintain a certain mystique that invites their guests to continually return. Craig sends his best regards.

Please do let us know when you will join us again at the hotel by sending an email to reservation@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Dock House visit just as memorable.

Warm Regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

It's rare to find a hotel that ticks all the boxes - but this one does. The fantastic service, friendliness and professionalism, style, location, breakfasts, parking, beautiful rooms, views etc etc, are simply all top notch. Dock House and its manager Craig are a class act and I can say hand on heart that you will not regret booking a stay here.

The hotel is small and luxury boutique, housed in a restored historical building located slap bang in the heart of the waterfront area and yet set above and slightly behind the hustle and bustle so you get a feeling of calm retreat. The room, 505, is one that I'll remember forever. It offered wonderful balcony views of the garden and waterfront, was so very tastefully decorated, it went on for miles - I could have housed a family of four in the bathroom alone, had lovely toiletries including a decent hair conditioner and included a generous welcome bottle of sparkling wine.

Craig the manager was extremely helpful in making reservations for us and in offering suggestions and recommendations for Cape Town and further afield. He is a star and I am grateful that he enhanced our Cape Town experience.

One thing I am very pleased to report about this hotel is that it hasn't prompted me to write this review. Since finishing my South Africa holiday, I have been bombarded with emails from other hotels we stayed at telling me to post a glowing review. One even went as far as copying my guest book comments back to me and suggesting I might like to cut and paste these into Tripadvisor! Trust me, Dock House would never need to stoop so low.

Room tip: Room 505 affords great views and will make you feel like you are visiting royalty.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveller12397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Dear Happytraveller12397,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experiential journey for future travellers. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Dock House Boutique Hotel and Spa and that we met every one of your expectations. Craig and his team love to go out of their way to make every guests stay one you will not soon forget and reading your review has reiterated this point.

Please do let us know when you will join us again at the hotel by sending an email to reservation@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Dock House visit just as memorable.

Warm Regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel happens to be one of the finest that I have had the opportunity of staying in on all my travels.I often notice notable imperfection in a room on closer inspection,but this hotel room was flawless.In my opinion a spacious room,big bathroom with a beautiful view always tick the right boxes.I loved the luxurious cotton bath robes as well as the modern amenities mixed with classic styling.A big thank you to Craig,Zara and their great team for making this a memorable stay.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank DAVIDM23646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Dear DAVID M,

Our team are always more than delighted to read positive reviews and thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We pride ourselves on delivering personalized attention to our guests and I'm delighted to read you experienced the true Dock House service and that we were able to meet your requests.

Please do let us know when you will join us again at the hotel by sending an email to reservations@newmarkhotels.com so that we can make your next Dock House visit just as memorable.

Warm Regards


Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Our stay here in mid-May was a delightful experience. This small hotel has a wonderful location on a hill opposite the waterfront. It only takes a couple of minutes (using the stairs/ramp from the hill) to access the waterfront restaurants, Victoria Mall and all the other activity of the area. The very helpful staff will also arrange any taxi service you need during your visit.
Our upstairs room was luxurious, spacious and had a great views of the waterfront, the Time Ball Tower and the Dock House garden and pool. Nighttime music from the waterfront can be heard in the distance. This was not a problem for us as it was muted by our beautifully-draped, closed windows (the nights were cool) and seemed to end each night before 11 pm. We had no room problems although more outlets to use as a charging station would have been useful.
Breakfast is included and can be had in any of the three hotels owned by this group. The Dock House breakfast room is elegant & small with personal service. Breakfast buffets can be had at the two other hotels one of which is located right across the courtyard from the Dock House.
The pool seemed nice & clean but the weather was too cool during our stay for swimming (which we really didn't miss with all the other things to do in and around Cape Town).

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CJMNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Manager at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2015

Dear CJMNY,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us at the Dock House Hotel. Craig and his team take a huge amount of pride in ensuring that each guest has a memorable stay with us and this just reiterates that.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to create another memorable experience with us, so on your next visit please do let reservations@newmarkhotels.com know so that we can make your next Queen Victoria stay unforgettable.

Kind regards
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We were originally booked in the Dock House's sister property, the Victoria Hotel but when we arrived they said since we were on our honeymoon they would like to upgrade us to the 5 star Dock House. We were thrilled with the room! It's big and grand and elegant with amazing views of the Waterfront. I loved the huge bathtub and the large balcony. The room was always clean and we loved the snacks that housekeeping brought up each evening. The free breakfast downstairs was delicious, and you can also go to the Victoria Hotel for breakfast as well if you're craving more variety.

Yes, there is some noise at night from the bars across the street, but it wasn't loud enough to disturb you (although the honking did get annoying). Besides that, this is the perfect hotel and we really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katrina1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews