We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atforest Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$134
US$114
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$131
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$269
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$144
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$107
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$754
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
20
9
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
9
8
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017

This is a nice b and b in Cape Town, but it is a bit quirky. Room is fine (a bit old-fashioned), shower room did not look great, but the water pressure was good and strong and it was clean. Pool in garden, was a strange shade of green but it was pleasant sitting there for a short period one afternoon. The air-conditioning system was leaking water so had to be switched off, we were provided with a fan. The lady who was managing the b and b was very friendly and very helpful, she absolutely did her best to make sure we felt well looked after.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michele22London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PietCapeTown, Owner at Atforest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Dear Michele,
Sorry to read about the pool, air conditioner and shower room. The problems will be investigated, but the old fashionedness you might have seen on photos before you booked! We are just old fashioned! The house is 110 years old and I, myself, am not far behind.
Kind regards and please try us again.
Piet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Rooms are very old and shabby.
Bathroom is very cramped, the shower is full of black mold. Disgusting!
Breakfast is lower average
The wind is blowing through the closed windows.
It is a cheap guest house, but for the offered performance nevertheless too expensive

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oli_Konditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Atforest is clean, safe and has easy access to Cape Town. Lance and Mama (as I referred to her the helper and cleaner) are very friendly and helpful in helping you to find your way around on your own and attending to queries.The breakfast is eatable, but lacking Inspiration and eggs are very oily when served. The view from the guesthouse is great too.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 674amelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Atforest. Lance was incredibly helpful, the room was clean, it had a great location for Table Mountain and the breakfast was delicious. We spent four nights here and it was a gray base for exploring but we did have a car. We really enjoyed our time here.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ejstirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

The place is easy to find. Its on the uphill side so the best way to get here is by car. The area feels safe and its close Table Mountain, Lions Head, Signal Hill. There's parking for 3-4 cars inside the walled area, first come first serve.

We had a great stay and the only downside is their WiFi didn't cover completely the whole house. We stayed in a room next to the pool and the signal in the room was very low or none.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews