We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great dinner!”
Review of Nelson's Eye

Nelson's Eye
Ranked #30 of 1 193 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 363 - R 726
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 December 2019

Probably one of the most underrated spots in Cape Town! If you want the best steaks this is the place to visit! Great Food and even better prices!

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Crownan911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1 502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 126 of 1 502 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2019

Our Guest House recommended we eat here and it was worth the visit, in fact we recommended it to friends who where staying in Cape Town and they agreed that they served the most amazing Steaks that you'll find in SA and we tried a few. The do also have a veggie menu . Don't be put of by the location and the outside of the building it really is worth eating there

Date of visit: November 2019
2  Thank Zarsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2019 via mobile

Look past the appearance of the place.
We came on recommendation and weren’t disappointed.
We came for lunch so it was quiet and the waitress very attentive.
I had Prawn cocktail to start but wished I’d had grilled calamari like my husband..... food envy
We both had fillet steak and it was cooked to perfection and tasted delicious. Cannot fault the main meal although wish they’d had baked potato :(
Would recommend for steak

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank Tbronad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2019 via mobile

Great food, great service, amazing value for money. Definitely the best steak I had in a very long time and I’ve been very fortunate to sample great steaks all over the world.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 29suec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2019

Once you arrived there, eat only Steak , Filet is extra ideal, more than perfect, I felt Utopian while eating,

It was our first night dinner of an 11 days tour in South Africa, and the restaurant was recommended by my son who was there several times before on different holidays, then it became one of the sites (or visits) that he cannot miss every visit, then I decided to go there again last night before flying home :-)

Both times were better than each other, but better than any Steak Filet I ever had,

Highly recommended, not to be missed,

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hussein_Elshabrawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Nelson's Eye also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Nelson's Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.