We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ethiopian chow”

Addis in Cape Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 1 170 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Addis in Cape! Voted best African Eatery in Cape Town, an authentic Ethiopian restaurant that caters for Non-vegetarian, Vegan and Vegetarian clients. We provide a unique communal dining experience you, your family and friends will remember. From traditional hand-wash ceremonies to our traditional Ethiopian coffee we promise a memorable experience. Ethiopian cuisine is famous for its rich aromas and generous use of herbs and spices. The country was historically situated on trading routes that included the trade of many exotic spices; this history has had a tremendous influence on the taste of Ethiopian food as we know it. Today most of the herbs and spices are blended and prepared in the home with great love and attention, as are those used in Addis in Cape. The dishes that you taste here are unique to Ethiopia and we are proud as a restaurant to share them with you.
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

This restaurant has a well done decor combined with delicious Ethiopian food. They were also flexible with the menu no prefix meal to accommodate eating preferences.

1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Addis in Cape Ethiopian Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017

A wide range of dishes, eaten by hand in the tradional way. All the dishes were tasty but, disappointinly, not as spicy as they could be. The waiter(from Addis Ababa) was excellent. The decor and seating are great. Low chairs but really comfortable.
Definitely worth a visit.
And many vegetarian and vegan dishes for those who don't eat meat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celebrate2016, Manager at Addis in Cape Ethiopian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your rating and appreciation for authentic cultural and cuisine. We try not to make our dishes too spicy but offer extra fresh chili or dry chili as an extra for those spicy lovers, this way we managed to satisfy all palates.

We look forward to your next visit and feel to ask for extra spicy and we will be glad to adjust for you.

Thank you once again.

Addis in Cape Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Excellent experience. Service, ambience and food all top notch. Went two days in a row-must have if you like Ethiopian cuisine!

1  Thank Dirtyepidrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Went there for an Ethiopian dinner and it was good! Service staffs are very friendly, good service and the food is delicious! Huge portion for me and my husband though! Lovely experience for us! And thank you David for your excellent service!!

1  Thank NurZ_9-30-2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

I've been to Addis a few times. It has not failed me when it comes to taste, quality and ambience. It really is a great place for Ethiopian food. It tastes super good, portions are good and the quality is great too. The feel of the place, furniture and music (though a bit loud) are all lovely. Two things that prevent me from giving five stars: tends to be too dark and secondly the service is WAY TOO SLOW. The waiters are nice but it really takes them a while to listen to you and if an order is confused with another or messed up for reason, just forget about getting the right thing in time!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Familyvacations_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celebrate2016, Manager at Addis in Cape Ethiopian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Good day,

We thank you for your review and appreciate your honesty.
We will not excuse the slow service and will take this as area to focus on more. We will definitely look into the lighting and make sure our music is at a subtle tone as it usually is.

We would like to know what waiter served you and on what evening you had your dinner. This will allow us to investigate why your order was delayed and confused and also enable us to improve on these areas.

Please contact us on celebrate@addisincape.co.za for further correspondence.

āmeseginalehu (thank you), we hope to serve you again.

Management


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Addis in Cape Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Addis in Cape Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing