We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cape Royale
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$144
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$118
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$752
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1 587)
Filter reviews
1 587 results
Traveller rating
955
355
160
46
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
955
355
160
46
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslord and ladybedroom suiteluxury hotelwasher dryerrooftop barfull kitchentravel deskfantastic hotelliving areagreen pointshuttle serviceour honeymoonself cateringwaterfront areafour nightsfree shuttletable mountain
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1 587 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

I’m a big traveller and a bit of a stickler for a great 5* hotel especially when travelling with my family. We were sceptical as the travel agent had included this hotel as part of our first class flights. Wow I had nothing to worry about. Brilliantly located in the heart of the safest part of Cape Town the entrance and inside of the hotel is truly beautiful. A bit like the walkways in the Mumbai Taj. The two bedroom room was enormous with a super smart lounge and kitchen with three balconies. You really can’t go wrong. One small annoying thing was the pool at the top of the hotel was empty because of the water issue. And it was a bit unkept and empty as they terminated the contract with the people who were running the bar and restaurant on the roof. There were also a only 5 loungers so it’s not a hotel for sunbathing and swimming really more a great central, safe location with the bonus of huge luxurious quiet rooms and next door to Woolworths which is a MUST!!! It gets my approval!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Yvonne016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Very nice and spacious hotel. The room was luxury and has all the amenities required for a relaxed stay. Fantastic location, near beach and Cape Town Stadium. Neat, well maintained and comfortable apartment

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Easan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

we stayed here for four nights mainly choosing it f or its location and huge rooms for a family. the hotel is a new building so everythign is beautiful and well maintained.
while there is a fridge in the big kitchen there is no drinks or anything edible like a mini-bar in the fridge and everything has to be ordered though i did not see a room service menu. the amazing room that we had was more like a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment.
friends who tried to call and leave a message for us said they had difficulty with receptionist's understanding even though our friends are South African so this could be improved and also there is no cocktail bar but a coffee shop which functions as the breakfast area and dining area for the rest of they day and evening.
the staff such as the doormen and bell hops are amazing in their helpfulness and warm characters and personalities. well recommended when visiting this part of Cape Town

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and the location is great but our experience left a bit to be desired. We scheduled a car to pick us up at the airport and it never arrived (and the manager was not apologetic). They sent a “Float Your Boat” survey that we filled out before our arrival but they didn’t provide any of the items we listed. When we arrived they didn’t even have a working key to our room! The staff (other than the manager) were very friendly and did their best to be helpful despite these problems. The room was spacious and very comfortable but if I returned to Cape Town I think I would stay at a different hotel that better captures “luxury.”

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank amylia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel and the rooms are fantastic, and housekeeping are excellent
Shame that the Pool terrace and Skybar were closed for the whole duration of our stay, and we were not informed of this at the time of the booking
Only sticking point was the reluctance to replace the shower gel, we had to keep on reminding the front desk we had run out
Quite a good location, easy walk to the V&A waterfront

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laughing_boy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews