We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cape Royale
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$148
US$131
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/05
US$218
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 27/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$144
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$118
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 26/05
US$752
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1 587)
Filter reviews
1 587 results
Traveller rating
955
355
160
46
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
955
355
160
46
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslord and ladybedroom suiteluxury hotelwasher dryerrooftop barfull kitchentravel deskfantastic hotelliving areagreen pointshuttle serviceour honeymoonself cateringwaterfront areafour nightsfree shuttletable mountain
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 1 587 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2016

One of the best hotels Ive had to pleasure to stay at in Cape Town. A group of us hired a apartment suite which had 2 bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, a Lounge, Kitchen and balcony over looking Cape Town.

The suite was very modern and clean and we definitely felt like VIPs when walking through the main entrance. The staff were friendly and eager to please.

The great thing about the Cape Royal is its location. It is close to some amazing restaurants and the legendary Long street which is the party capital of Cape Town.

There's nothing much to complain about when it comes to Cape Royal. This is a top notch hotel and if you want a luxurious stay in Cape Town, you just found it

Room Tip: Get a room with a mountain view
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetWithJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeRoyaleManager, Hotel Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

What make us feel proud as a team, is to receive such fantastic feedback.

We thank you for recognising our collective efforts in ensuring we provide you with only the best in product and service delivery and welcome your return.

Royale Regards
Gallo Shanker | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CapeRoyaleManager, Hotel Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Cape Royale recently in one of the apartments which give access to the hotel facilities. It was something of a mixed bag. The hotel is located in Green Point which is great we just loved it - vibrant, lots of bars and restaurants and easy walking to the V&A waterfront. The hotel staff are lovely and very helpful and the place is very well appointed BUT....the hotel interior is open plan i.e suspended ceilings and walkways which looks fab but combined with lots of marble makes it incredibly noisy all the time. In fact the staff have no awareness of how much noise they create and are happily shouting to each other down corridors and essentially woke or disturbed us most days. We were also attracted by the roof top pool / sunbathing area and this feature was a big part of our choosing the hotel. The pool area is very small and shares its space with the 'sky bar' on three consecutive days the sky bar had been rented out for private pool parties / 21st birthdays etc meaning the residents were squeezed into a tiny area with about 6 sun beds between 40 people. These were not night time parties this was from about 15:30 in the afternoon. So we changed tactic and headed to the pool first thing in the morning only to find that all the sun beds ( there are only about 20) had been reserved because 'people ring ahead to make sure they get a space'. I had to get really quite cross before we given a sun bed and unsurprisingly 3 hours later when we left the pool area the people with the reservations still hadn't turned up. All in all they need to think about their guests first in my view. Private parties are fine if you have lots of space and function rooms but they don't. Some other guests told us they had been made to leave the pool completely area a few days before our arrival due to a private function. Not ideal!!!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeRoyaleManager, Hotel Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for highlighting your experience.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the noise levels experienced whilst staying with us, the team has already been addressed. With regards to the pool area access being limited, we have collectively discussed, together with the Zenith Sky Bar management, ways to improve service.

Let us also thank you for highlighting the positives.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Cape Royale.

Royale Regards
Gallo Shanker | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Rooms and all amenities really complete and also the location near the Waterfont is excellent
Same as rest/Bar belonging to the Hotel and beside it realy confortable.
Recommendable for biz/Families .trip/stays

Room Tip: Roomd with view to Table Mountain or Waterfont. Quiet romos with no traffic sounds interior rooms
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernando_caracciolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeRoyaleManager, Hotel Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your most kind words.

We are quite pleased to have served you and glad to know that you had an wonderful time staying with us.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Cape Royale.

Royale Regards
Gallo Shanker | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment as a family of 4 and were delighted with everything. The apartment was very spacious, clean, luxurious and the beds were so comfortable. Flying in from Australia it was really important to us that we got good quality sleep and we certainly did which allowed us to get over the jet lag easily. The staff were very attentive and friendly and the hotel restaurant served delicious healthy breakfasts catering to all four of our very different tastes. The waitress who served us went out of her way to pack a take away breakfast very early at 6am one morning because we had to have an early sight seeing day and were being picked up. This was before the restaurant opened so we were very grateful, she even remembered all out different preferences without us having to place our order! We went up to the rooftop bar/pool Saturday night which was really happening and alive, great atmosphere for our 16 and 17 year old to hang out and chill and take a dip in the heat. We can not fault this hotel, it exceeded our expectations and we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 383sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeRoyaleManager, Hotel Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your wonderful experience with us and fellow-travellers.

We pride ourselves in delivering the best in product and service delivery to all staying at the Cape Royale and we are so pleased to learn that you have rated the team’s efforts in high regard.

We look forward to your return.

Royale Regards
Gallo Shanker | Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews