We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated luxury with breath-taking views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #52 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2015

I stayed at this hotel while in town for work. On the first night I had a mountain-facing apartment which was very comfortable and welcoming. The next day I was upgraded to a sea-facing suite which was very spacious and had amazing views. The staff was very friendly and efficient and made my stay very pleasant. The central location of the hotel made it very easy to get to and from my meetings.
My only gripe was my salad that i ordered for being dinner being delivered around 10:30pm when the order had been placed around 9pm! Other than that I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel for both business or family vacation.

Room Tip: Sea -facing suites have more than one room . Single occupancy rooms face the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ayandas2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 447 of 1 574 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2015

My wife ,daughter and myself enjoyed our stay at the hotel.The apartments are a good size and are quite smart with both bedrooms having good ensuites.The staff were very polite and friendly.
The location is good as it is just a 10 minute walk to the water front..The only two complaints i would have was that we were supposed to have was a sea facing room which was a joke.At best with binoculars you might spot a tiny spot of sea VERY DISSAPOINTING !!!!!.
The other small complaint was that we had major problems accessing the internet in our apartment despite efforts of the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank easytiger1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

After a cancellation by the hotel on New Years Eve the managers really "made it right" for my wife and I. We enjoyed a wonderful suite facing the waterfront that was tastefully decorated and "white glove" clean. Jason recognized us straight away and ensured that we were sorted out with parking and that we knew all the ins and outs of our suite.
The communication of the managers Terri and Storm was truly exceptional and demonstrated true customer service. The only tip for a better hotel is to work with the front door staff, they were rude Saturday evening and rude Sunday morning. This is the first impression people receive and when we arrived I overheard an older woman complaining to the door man that he was talking to her like a cockroach.
On Sunday morning we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast at the Banting with very accommodating wait staff. The hotel, with a few exceptions, obviously values customer service on the caliber of the physical accommodations.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Stayed here for four nights with my girlfriend after reading some decent reviews of this hotel. Initially we were very impressed, the lobby does a good job of setting you up in thinking this place is going to be absolutely tip top. The staff were helpful and courteous and our room initially looked pretty solid. However, as some reviewers have noted, it doesn't seem to know if it is a hotel or high end apartment block, each room being set up with washing machine, dishwasher etc. Also despite the presence of a cooker there were no cooking utensils? Luckily we had no plans on cooking but if we did, what were we supposed to use...?

The VIP rooftop pool is laughable by the way. Seriously, the way they sell it to you makes it sound like a great view with a lovely large pool to splash around in. The reality. It looks like a pond on the roof and the bar resembles something from a cheesy Spanish beachfront. We parked our car in their garage ( they charge you for this privilege, despite not telling us this at check in) with the promise that all we needed to do was to call reception at any time of day and the car would be bought round to the front of the hotel. Awesome. Except not. When we called early one morning, they had no drivers. The reception staff said they would call us back, but they didn't. So we went downstairs and drove our car out ourselves.

Finally, back to the room. The window looking outside had a massive crack through it, apparently reception knew about this for weeks. But most importantly is the way the apartment was laid out. The bedroom was next to the corridor, no problem you might think. However in the bedroom is a window.... which faces into the corridor. And boy can you hear every door slam and every conversation which takes place. In hindsight, It would be far more sensible to have the bathroom and bedroom swapped round, which we later found out is exactly how some of the apartments are laid out. My suggestion, if you stay here, is to make sure you request a room which does not have the bedroom right next to the corridor.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rmflook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Stayed for 6 nights in a lovely suite at this hotel; which did not seem sure if it was a hotel or an apartment block. The suite seemed to be equipped with all the facilities of an apartment, until we had to ask for a thing as simple as a pan (this was only the beginning of the lack of kitchen utensils). 3 of us stayed in the suite, and it was only equipped with 3 of everything (forks, knives, glasses etc), everything else then had to be requested. Check in experience was poor, as we arrived early (check in 14:00) and were told our room 'would' be made available ASAP. However, upon returning at 13:30 we were made to sit in the reception until precisely 14:01, when the room was now in fact ready. Tried to spend a couple of quiet afternoons relaxing the apartment to be constantly interrupted by a procession of housekeeping staff; someone to check the previous person had replaced the magazine, for example. However, on the days the rooms were not turned down, nobody felt it necessary to check.
However, on a positive, wonderful location for what we needed in Cape Town, made much better by the use of Jarat Tours as a transfer to the town centre and other locations - who were all around super! Generally speaking, even the housekeeping who bothered you constantly, the bell-boys and door staff etc were much more pleasant and professional than the desk staff in the reception.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellishayes92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1,1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 853 reviews
0,4 km away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 735 reviews
1,1 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,9 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 861 reviews
1,4 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 831 reviews
0,7 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 774 - R 7 623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxurious All-Suite, 5-star hotel, is centrally located, within walking distance to the Cape Town stadium, V&A Waterfront and close to all popular beaches. It offers bright spacious Suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen and large living & entertainment areas. Guests have a choice between several dining options, Wellness Centre, Fitness Centre and a Rooftop Pool Deck offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain. Ask the Cape Royale Luxury Hotel concierge team to offer suggestion on Cape Town and surround activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing