We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Cape Diem Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Diem Lodge
Ranked #37 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Carpe Diem Lodge was perfect for our stay. The lovely garden with a sea view was a great place to relax in the day and enjoy the lovely summer nights. Very good location in Green Point, walking distanse (daytime) to town and V&A Waterfront. Freshely squeesed orange juice for breakfast illustrates the quality of the meal. We stayed in two rooms because of our late booking. The first was great, with access direct into the garden. The second one was smaller with the bed on a mezzanine, and door to the lovely patio. Both rooms tastefully done and furnished, but for we liked the first better. The staff is very attentive and service minded. We loved the attention to detail, the pool area was always swept, there was tea and lovely cakes every day at four and tastefull garden furniture was available and comfortable.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank norge2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

This guest house is a gem in the heart of Green Point, Cape Town. It's unique in character, being a beautiful Victorian farmhouse yet super chic and modern inside. Daniel the owner, has "an eye" for interior decor and has cleverly maintained the beautiful Victorian doors, skirting boards, high ceilings, wooden floors, external tiles, and combined them all with ultra modern decor. It works superbly and looks stunning.

Location is great as its a 10 minute walk to the V&A Waterfront, yet far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet round the well planned and beautifully manicured pool area.

Each guestroom has it's own individual style and is equipped with everything one needs. My room had a mezzanine bedroom. Room 2. My friend's room (1) was incredibly spacious and light with a large en suite.  A well stocked fridge, hairdryer, toiletries, tv, air con, tea, coffee, are all complimentary. The beds are king size, very comfortable, with comfy pillows. Bed linen is fresh, crisp white cotton.

Breakfast is amazing. There is a wide choice of pastries, conserves, meats, cheeses, muffins, flapjacks, cooked breakfast to order and my favourite, eggs benedict. A choice of coffees and teas is also available. Truly spoilt for choice.

Now to the beautiful people who made our holiday fantastic. Thanks to Bianca, Daniel, Vichna, Yvonne, Anola, Shaffeika, and last but certainly not least, Samuel. You all went above and beyond to make our holiday so memorable. Everything was done with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you all so very much.

I cannot recommend Cape Diem highly enough. We will certainly be back next year.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank minimarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Super great lodge in Cape Town. Very nice and modern furnished with beautiful pool. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms have everyting you need. The breakfast was a dream(you have to try the omlett). Can only recommend this lodge.

Tobias

Room Tip: Room with door to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

My mother and I stayed here for a week whilst travelling through SA... what can I say, other than excellent for a b & b.. in fact, calling it a b & b is belittling it's 5 star service.

All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful - we couldn't fault their hospitality, we were made to feel very welcome.

Their breakfasts were delicious and I can highly recommend the eggs Benedict!!

Our room was large and spacious, we were at the front of the building, the only downside was the real wood flooring, beautiful though it may be it is not conducive to noise reduction. You could easily hear the comings and goings of the other guests, so not ideal for light sleepers.

Would definitely recommend staying here and would go back again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We were only at Cape Diem for two nights (having been in Tamboerskloof for five nights previous to that), but what a warm welcome and fabulous service we received! The superior room in the separate building was gorgeous. Breakfast was gourmet in taste and presentation. It's an easy walk to the V & A Waterfront, and crossing the multi-lane main road at the bottom of Vesperdene proved to be no problem at all. We had a very early departure for a flight at 5:45 a.m. and the night manager was fantastic, both in making sure that we were all set the previous night, and being on hand at that ungodly hour to see us into our taxi (arranged by Cape Diem). Thank you for making our brief stay such a pleasant one!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marianne112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,1 km away
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
121 reviews
1 km away
Bayflowers Guest House
Bayflowers Guest House
#10 of 156 in Cape Town Central
316 reviews
0,4 km away
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,7 km away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#40 of 156 in Cape Town Central
283 reviews
0,1 km away
Brenwin Guest House
Brenwin Guest House
#82 of 156 in Cape Town Central
141 reviews
0,8 km away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diem Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diem Lodge

Address: 11 Vesperdene Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 797 - R 3 057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Diem Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don’t expect the ordinary…”better sleeping, better relaxing, better eating – better Cape Diem LODGE!” In our brand new and stylish Cape Diem LODGE you’ll find victorian charm, mixed with an award winning european interior design and all of that in the heart of vibrant Cape Town. Let us free you from the normal hotel stress. Our fresh, host and easy team wants to treat you like friends and as such, you will be sure to come. The house represents one of the first Farm Houses in Greenpoint, dating back to early 1875, equipped with the latest of modern interior, set in a beautifully landscaped garden with a sparkling pool and a Teak wood sundeck, where you’ll enjoy your rich english breakfast in the morning. It is gently attached to the lower slopes of Signal Hill, overlooking the Bay, Blouwberg Strand, Robben Island and the VA Waterfront and only minutes away from the cities major attractions.Our idea to “relaunche” and converte this victorian jewel from early 1900, in one of Cape Towns most thought after positions, into a luxurious meeting point for friends from around the world, came with a blink of an eye. The complete restoration in 2007/2008 was taking us several month and carried out with the greatest care to details. Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony. Our motto: contemporary design in historical surroundings!In the heart of the house, you’ll be able to relax in our cosy and elegant lounge. Enjoy a book and a glas of exquisit south african wine or lay back in front of our open fire place during the winter.Our perfectly appointed rooms are offered in Classic or Superior. The interior is inspired by the new generation of young south african designers. Light and characterised by innumerable details, as well as kingsized beds, innovative bathrooms, state of the art self controled cooling & heating system, LCD Flatscreen TV’s & DVD’s and a fully loaded minibar including south african wines and champagne. Our complimentary wireless Lan internet connection does not only cater our friends on business, but may be enjoyed by everyone. Furthermore, all of our guest rooms are equipped with a CD sound experience, an Nespresso Coffee station, self dial telephones, digital safe, hair dryer, bathrobes + slippers, luxury bath ameneties, shower & bath and so much more… Why not trying out our pillow menu? Challenge us – what more can we get you?We also would like to offer you a personal, secure and hassle free pick-up in a luxury SUV from or to the Airport to the Cape Diem LODGE at a total of only R 450,- for 2 guests/per way. We only ask you for an early reservation and your exact flight details – leave the rest to us!We wish you already today the best possible trip to Cape Town and a very pleasant stay at your Cape Diem Lodge.Warm regards from Cape Town,Your Cape Diem LODGE Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape Diem Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing