We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Diem Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$133
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$165
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$148
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$209
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$790
US$751
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
203
38
11
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
38
11
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen pointowner danielwould stay here again without hesitationfinest restaurantsthe lovely pool areaquiet streetbreakfast was deliciouswalking distancenespresso machineguest house istwo nightswelcome drinkwooden floorsperfect locationmain roadrecommend staying heresugar hotel
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Would I go back? Most certainly

The location is ideal, approx 15 mins walk from the main V&A area.

The Hotel is lovely, clean, with well kept rooms and grounds

Staff are great, friendly and attentive

A pleasure to stay there and would love to go back

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NeilMG91164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Neil,

Thank you for your great review on Cape Diem Lodge.

It is always wonderful to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us, we pride ourselves in warm hospitality, and it keeps us motivated knowing our much valued guests can enjoy this.

Wishing you all the best and many more happy travels!

Warm regards,
Bianca
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This was our 5th visit to Cape Diem Lodge and we stayed in one of the 2 new rooms - think we only have 2 left to try! There was a lovely terrace to enjoy late afternoon sunshine, nice and airy with quality of fittings very good. The team were as helpful as ever, and location as most reviews highlight is great for V&A, City Bowl and most of all some very good evening haunts in Green Point itself, about 2 mins walk away. Thanks again to Daniel, Bianca and the team - see you next time!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyandHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Andy and Heather,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Cape Diem Lodge :)

It was a pleasure having you and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Warm regards,
Bianca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Superb B & B in Green Point and in easy (12mins) walking distance of the Waterfront. Run with great attention to detail by Owner Daniel and assisted by caring Bianca. They make it home from home. Breakfast is a lovely relaxed buffet with the girls ready to cook what you want having prepared fresh fruit, croissants, choice of breads for toasting. Coffees and teas as you want them.

The rooms are very comfortable with modern bathrooms and thoroughly cleaned daily.

The pool area is an oasis of calm away from the bustle of the city.

Our third visit. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Dearest John and Liz,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Cape Diem Lodge. It is always pleasure having you stay with us :)

Wishing you all the best and hope to welcome you back next year!

Sunny greetings from Cape Town,
Daniel and Bianca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

We picked this B&B from hundreds listed for our first trip to Capetown. It was relatively easy to find and perfectly situated for walking to the waterfront- 10 minutes. Our room was described when we booked it as superior, superior it was not, big, yes, but outdated, shabby and in need of a good makeover.
It was next to the front door with huge bay windows, which meant you could see and hear everything going on, as could the people passing outside. One sink was blocked and the second morning we had no water. Bianca, the manageress, was extremely helpful and moved us after two nights to another room which was superior, in every way to the first one. It was modern, clean, bright and well equipped, with even its own outside decking area for sunbathing. The breakfasts were adequate and the service was very pleasant. All in all a good base to explore Capetown, not cheap for B&B, but close to some good restaurants for evening meals, and local shops.
But, please Mr.Owner do something about the first room we stayed in!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tonyraphael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Dear Tony,

Thank you for your review on Cape Diem Lodge.

We would like to thank you for your compliments on our staff, we strive to give all our guests great service and a memorable stay in Cape Town.

In my personal correspondence with you, we had discussed certain points of your stay, but since TripAdvisor is a public platform, I do feel it is necessary for us to also give our point of view.

I am glad that you were happy in one of our new rooms, which we had built last year, and that we were able to make your stay more pleasant with us - On that note I need to add that different room categories such as "Superior" or "Classic" will greatly differ from big Hotels to Guesthouses, it is normal that a Superior room in a smaller establishment would offer you more floor space, you will find the same scenario in a number of other boutique hotels or guesthouses.

You also mention that on your second day you did not have any water, this is correct, however, the Western Cape currently has severe water shortages and on this particular morning, there was no water supply to the whole area that we are located in, and not just us. Unfortunately, this was something which we did not have any control over, but tried to inform all guests and gave them complimentary bottled water for the day.

On your final note regarding the upkeep of the house, I would like to add that we pride ourselves in our beautiful Victorian home, which still has the original floors, doors and windows dating back to the 1800's . We regularly have a maintenance team to fix normal wear and tear that comes after 10 years of running a place, let alone a building that has been standing for over a 100 years. With that said, I also mentioned to you personally that we will be doing some upgrades to the house this coming winter when Cape Town will be slowing down for a while.

With all that said, I am sorry that we were not able to meet all your preferences but value your feedback none the less, and look forward to hosting many more happy guests.

Sunny greetings from Cape Town
Bianca
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Stayed for 3 nights in this very nice hotel. It was in a good location, the rooms where very nice and comfortable. Nice pool. The staff was so friendly and very helpful. Especially the manager Bianca who helped more then you can expect. We got great advices and the service was more then good.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Dear Carina,

Thank you for the lovely review on Cape Diem Lodge.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back if you visit Cape Town again!

Warm regards,
Bianca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews