We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely yet luxurious.”
Review of Cape Diem Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Diem Lodge
Ranked #37 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The lodge was beautiful, very relaxing and tranquil at a convenient central location.

The staff was great and took good care of us during our stay, making us feel at home and helping us find good restaurants and other must-visit spots.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

Loved this place the staff are great there is a friendly guard on at night there to help and watch over the property. The breakfast is amazing only a 5 minute walk to the waterfront with heaps of shopping and food. Some nice restaurants down the street also. My only gripe is there is no door between bedroom and shower and toilet so it's a bit open but if you can get past that it's a beautiful place I would stay again

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kiwilee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

After checking on safety of area with South African friends we booked Cape Diem Lodge for 3 night stay in Capetown recently. Great choice. Beautifully renovated lodge containing 5 suites - well manicured grounds, great service, fantastic breakfast, close to V & A waterfront. Would definitely love to stay there again & would thoroughly recommend lodge to friends.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hamo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We stayed for 4 nights prior to Easter and have to say what a super little hotel this is. So much so we had a further night later on in our holiday in Cape Town (after doing the Garden Route) prior to our airport departure and decided to stay at Cape Diem Lodge again.
It was comfortable, clean and within walking distance to the V&A (although a taxi was cheap and the hotel could call it and probably the safest option at night)
The staff were excellent and nothing was any trouble. The owner Daniel was friendly and made us feel very welcome.When we visit Cape Town again (which is almost certain, God willing) we shall not hesitate to stay here. A little Gem indeed!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazzaleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Very well located, great attention to detail,clean, must stay again! Staff and management were terrific. A lovely old building that has been renovated to a very high standard that also has a secluded pool and outdoor area which was nice to relax in after a day playing tourist. The lodge is located only a short walk to the V.A Waterfront precinct where there is so much to explore. It's also a short walk to cape towns new sport stadium The lodge is in a quiet little cul de sac which means it is very quiet yet only 100mtrs to main road where all the fun of cape town begins. The lodge is also very safe with a night secrity dude there all night. Staff happy to book wine tours table mountain tours or just advise on all things cape town. Do yourselves a favour and book here

Room Tip: We had front room which was beautiful but a little noise from other guests entering and leaving but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trevor2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,1 km away
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
117 reviews
1 km away
Bayflowers Guest House
Bayflowers Guest House
#10 of 156 in Cape Town Central
316 reviews
0,4 km away
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,7 km away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#40 of 156 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
1,8 km away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
532 reviews
0,8 km away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diem Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diem Lodge

Address: 11 Vesperdene Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 795 - R 3 206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Diem Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don’t expect the ordinary…”better sleeping, better relaxing, better eating – better Cape Diem LODGE!” In our brand new and stylish Cape Diem LODGE you’ll find victorian charm, mixed with an award winning european interior design and all of that in the heart of vibrant Cape Town. Let us free you from the normal hotel stress. Our fresh, host and easy team wants to treat you like friends and as such, you will be sure to come. The house represents one of the first Farm Houses in Greenpoint, dating back to early 1875, equipped with the latest of modern interior, set in a beautifully landscaped garden with a sparkling pool and a Teak wood sundeck, where you’ll enjoy your rich english breakfast in the morning. It is gently attached to the lower slopes of Signal Hill, overlooking the Bay, Blouwberg Strand, Robben Island and the VA Waterfront and only minutes away from the cities major attractions.Our idea to “relaunche” and converte this victorian jewel from early 1900, in one of Cape Towns most thought after positions, into a luxurious meeting point for friends from around the world, came with a blink of an eye. The complete restoration in 2007/2008 was taking us several month and carried out with the greatest care to details. Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony. Our motto: contemporary design in historical surroundings!In the heart of the house, you’ll be able to relax in our cosy and elegant lounge. Enjoy a book and a glas of exquisit south african wine or lay back in front of our open fire place during the winter.Our perfectly appointed rooms are offered in Classic or Superior. The interior is inspired by the new generation of young south african designers. Light and characterised by innumerable details, as well as kingsized beds, innovative bathrooms, state of the art self controled cooling & heating system, LCD Flatscreen TV’s & DVD’s and a fully loaded minibar including south african wines and champagne. Our complimentary wireless Lan internet connection does not only cater our friends on business, but may be enjoyed by everyone. Furthermore, all of our guest rooms are equipped with a CD sound experience, an Nespresso Coffee station, self dial telephones, digital safe, hair dryer, bathrobes + slippers, luxury bath ameneties, shower & bath and so much more… Why not trying out our pillow menu? Challenge us – what more can we get you?We also would like to offer you a personal, secure and hassle free pick-up in a luxury SUV from or to the Airport to the Cape Diem LODGE at a total of only R 450,- for 2 guests/per way. We only ask you for an early reservation and your exact flight details – leave the rest to us!We wish you already today the best possible trip to Cape Town and a very pleasant stay at your Cape Diem Lodge.Warm regards from Cape Town,Your Cape Diem LODGE Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape Diem Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing