We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food & great friendly service”
Review of Burger & Lobster

Burger & Lobster
Ranked #45 of 1 288 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food
Description: Burger & Lobster was founded in 2016 with the idea of going back to basics of a restaurant culture where people were offered only a few items that would get people talking - a burger, a lobster roll and fresh lobster. The First B&L in South Africa started in Cape Town on Bree Street. B&L has a world renouned cocktail bar offering the best original cocktails in Cape Town made with all home-made ingredients. B & L is a trendy and vibey place that gets people coming back. The Burger is made with highest quality natural beef and the Lobster is sustainable live lobster. Each dish developed the best it can be, surrounded with good people and great energy.
Restaurant details
Description: Burger & Lobster was founded in 2016 with the idea of going back to basics of a restaurant culture where people were offered only a few items that would get people talking - a burger, a lobster roll and fresh lobster. The First B&L in South Africa started in Cape Town on Bree Street. B&L has a world renouned cocktail bar offering the best original cocktails in Cape Town made with all home-made ingredients. B & L is a trendy and vibey place that gets people coming back. The Burger is made with highest quality natural beef and the Lobster is sustainable live lobster. Each dish developed the best it can be, surrounded with good people and great energy.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We called into Burger & Lobster on the off chance of a table for lunch. We were made very welcome inside (the roadside tables outside were all occupied). The menu choices were simple - Burger, Lobster, combination of both, or a chicken burger. My wife had the chicken and I had a small lobster roll. Both were excellent, complimented by a great selection of local craft beers.

Great food, a nice vibe, and really attentive, friendly service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LavantRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Burger & Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for the review and the kind words. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed and the staff took good care of you. We hope to see you in the near future.

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

after looking forward to visiting B&L for quite some time we finally pulled the trigger. however great the menu, we were only interested in two things; you guessed it. and incredible flavour combination from the burger and the most succulent lobster creates the weirdest yet most satisfying combo. incredible food! there are only two issues here; a lack of variety when it comes to craft beer and (the big one) - price. far, far from cheap.

Thank lucianrajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Burger & Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for the lovely review and the great feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed and we look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Sat out the front on the street, waited a little longer than expected, however the burgers were excellent - full of meat and not greasy.

Met manager who was friendly and the service was excellent.

Inside looked great.

If you’re looking for a burger - I’d go here, albeit, next door does 2 burger and unlimited fries for the same price - they did look busier!!!

Thank Sonny1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Burger & Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for the review and the feedback. We appreciate the kind words and will look into the delay. Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Finally had an opportunity to visit B&L on Saturday (24/03/18) with the wife & another couple. Awesome burger joint! Setting, vibe, music, etc. The burger was really REALLY good. Scrumptious patty & a delicious roll with all the extras a good burger should have.
Our initial beers were warm, but Ecka (*spelling*) our waitress quickly organised cold ones for us. Food was quickly served shortly thereafter.
Perhaps consider a few more burger options on the menu. Options are somewhat limited for a burger fanatic.

Didn't enjoy the fact that our AWESOME waitress had to endure somewhat of crap-out session by the owner IN FRONT of patrons (incl. us). Really unprofessional & uncalled for + that's no way to talk to a lady. The 1/3 owner didn't even greet us, no smile...absolutely nothing. Ecka seems more of an appropriate owner/manager.

Anyways, other than the latter, we enjoyed our eve at B&L!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lugen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Burger & Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for the feedback and the kind words. We are busy investigating the matter at hand. This is not the norm for us and will be dealt with accordingly. We do hope you consider coming back and we will be sure to pass on the kind words to Ecka.

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We were in the neighbourhood looking for a quick bite and were enticed in by the decor and feel of the restaurant. We decided to order a few items and drinks from the cocktail menu.
The cocktails took an actual 10 minutes to arrive with only 4 tables in the restaurant. Our server had very little menu knowledge and was obviously poorly trained as she seemed looking me an intelligent young lady. Our food order came and was incorrect. I think we received the order for the table next to us and they received ours. The wings were chewy and over cooked. The burgers and sliders were good. More attention to detail and training needed for staff.

Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSCaRrArA, Owner at Burger & Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you Edward J for the review and your feedback. We were short staffed on the day you visited and I assure you this is not our normal standards. We have made necessary changes in order to prevent such an incident in happening again. Please accept our sincere apology for the delay and lack of attention to detail. We appreciate all forms of feedback as it assists us where need be. We do hope you consider visiting us in the near future.

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burger & Lobster also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Burger & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing