We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Roo310
Los Angeles, California

Absolute Perfection, as always!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 Jun 2022
There's nothing that can't be said to express how amazing The Glen is. It's my favourite hotel in the world and it's worth flying 30+ hours from California. It's that good.....

I've been coming here for years and each trip is equally impressive. This recent trip was different in that I travelled with my boyfriend as well as a long-time friend whom I convinced to come with me. They knew about my obsession with this hotel, but nothing prepared them for how incredible it is until we arrived with a warm welcome (and a glass of bubbly) and now they are also "Glen believers."

Everything about this hotel, every little detail....is perfect. The attention to detail would put Disneyland to shame.

The grounds themselves are stunning. The centrepiece is the gorgeous pool surrounded by a jacuzzi and a collection deckchairs. They are impeccably maintained and the landscaping is gorgeous. The choice of music is always relaxing and matches the laidback mood of the hotel.

The breakfast spread is a work of art. Beautifully displayed each morning with a vast amount of choices to suit any diet, there's a sense of guilt in taking items from it because it's so nicely displayed. All of the food and drinks are fresh and delicious. None of the food is canned or generic. My friend vowed it was the best coffee he's ever had at each breakfast. The dinners at night are equall well-presented and wonderful value. The dining area, inside and out, is soothing and upscale.

The Glen does offer a spa and the treatments are dreamy. Literally! The boyfriend and I were both guilty of falling asleep under the skillful hands of our masseurs'. It was total relaxation. The sauna and jacuzzi are the perfect place to take a break without being in the elements.

The drinks from the bar staff, namely Blessing and Tapiwa, were so good. They were pros at making delicious drinks and were bad influences; always offering another drink...."sure, why not?"

The room (#2) is jaw-dropping. Large and not-so-subtle with the Texas meets South Africa motif, it made the stay a lot of fun. It's individual and not just another generic hotel room. The bedding was very comfortable and the room has a relaxing patio with views toward Lion's Head and over Sea Point. The bathroom is simply stunning as well. All of the products supplied in the bathroom felt upscale and smelt incredible. Once again, that attention to detail.

The location is superb. It's a simple 10 minute drive to the CBD and V&A. Perfect for shopping and going out, or sightseeing. The only big issue is that the hotel is so nice, that we all were itching to go back. Parking is included in a gated lot, but if you plan on using Uber, most of the main attractions are a short ride away.

And then there's the staff. Most interactions with other hotel's staff is to-the-point and brief. Not the case here. All of them become friends. There is a legitimate concern for our well-being and ensuring that we're enjoying our stay. Be prepared to be asked if there's anything needed and an honest-to-goodness inquiry to how you are. This is not the place to be if you're shy and want to slither away unnoticed. But they're not intrusive, and it's obvious they love their job and want to be the best hosts imaginable. Their service, attentiveness, knowledge, and caring attitude is world-class. They never wanted to see us lift a finger, and we always felt guilty with how helpful they were. They had enough to take of, besides us.

We had plenty of chats, and enjoyed our "morning shows with Juliana and Inga", the breakfast hosts, while chatting with them each day. They would remember our usual morning drink and have them ready for us each morning.....it's that kind of place.

The front desk staff, Takunda, Maggie, and Justin, were always more than helpful. There's so many more who made this an unforgettable experience and we were sad to leave them all.

Mark, the manager, is consistently cordial and enjoyable to talk to. He has done an incredible job rounding up an ideal team and product, and makes it look easy (even though it is anything but!)

The hotel was once exclusively a gay hotel, but is open to anyone now and all are welcome. But it remains very gay friendly with the staff and there are small hints throughout the property.

The only issue that arose was the outside jacuzzi was temperamental with warming up and the pool itself is not heated. That's understandable given the significant cost to upgrade (which there are some updates rumoured soon).

So, impeccable grounds, delicious fresh food, the best mixed drinks, quirky and luxurious rooms, relaxing spas, and the best hotel staff imaginable...all within the stunning natural wonder of Cape Town. What's not to love? I feel guilty letting the secret out, as they'll now have full vacancy, but The Glen is easily the nicest place to stay in The Mother City.
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Mckeon, Owner at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 11 Jun 2022
Thank you Ryan for your incredibly inspiring review and your very kind and generous compliments.

We are all truly humbled by your review and will do all we can to live up to your ( and all our guests ) expectations of The Glen and will never take for granted the wonderful passion and loyalty you have shown over the years to the Glen Team, especially through these tough times of the past 2 years .

We all wish you well on your new ventures and travels and hope to see you ( Tim & Nathan ) and any other friends again in 2023 /24 to share our current upgrades and the " New Glen " .

Safe Travels until we meet again !

Mark Maggie Taku and all The Glen Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 080
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 3 080
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 069
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 080
2.3 km from Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 040
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 766
  • Vio.com
    R 1 332
  • Priceline
    R 1 368
2.4 km from Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Long Street Hotel Bath
R 849
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 593
  • Agoda.com
    R 577
  • Expedia.com
    R 755
2.4 km from Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
R 1 455
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 415
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 759
2.8 km from Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 750
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 750
  • Expedia.com
    R 657
  • Vio.com
    R 651
2.1 km from Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 001
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 011
  • Priceline
    R 1 829
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 011
3.3 km from Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 6 061
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 040
  • Priceline
    R 5 599
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 061
3.2 km from Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Cape Town Lodge
R 590
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 527
  • Agoda.com
    R 490
  • Vio.com
    R 526
2.3 km from Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Pool
Restaurant
R 9 221
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 9 221
  • Expedia.com
    R 9 189
  • Hotels.com
    R 9 221
2.7 km from Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviews (1 517)
Filter reviews
1 517 results
Traveller rating
1 327
145
28
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 327
145
28
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea point the penthouse pool area is our honeymoon hotel is beautiful breakfast buffet is home away from home visit cape town spent nights table mountain juliana seapoint jacuzzi promenade uber sa ct
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 1 517 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2022 via mobile

We have been coming to the Glen for many years - has to be the best hotel in Cape Town. From the warmth of the welcome from the amazing Glen team is just like returning home. All the rooms are amazing and so comfortable - but equally we can’t wait to relax around the pool with a cheeky cocktail. The day is finished off with a delightful meal in the restaurant - everything cooked fresh.
Definitely our home from home.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stevenwF3632BJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Mckeon, Owner at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2022

Dear Steve ,
Thank you for taking the time to share such generous feedback on your latest stay .

We are all thrilled that you and Anthony enjoyed your stay have found now a " permanent new home " close by and we look forward to welcoming you back as lifetime Glen VIP members and supporting you as neighbours close by and seeing even more of you poolside ,for sundowners , breakfast lunch or dinner !

Till you "Return to Paradise " again we send our warmest best wishes for your new home .

Mark Maggie Takunda and all The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2022 via mobile

Could not recommend this hotel more highly. A fantastic place to stay with wonderful, friendly and attentive staff.

Room was great and breakfast amazing. Not the cheapest place to stay of course but actually fantastic value when you consider the service and quality provided.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Navigate51151305099
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Mckeon, Owner at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2022

Thank you for your stay Andre and your gracious and supportive review of your experience and the service you enjoyed , we hope to welcome you back on a future trip for a longer stay with us .
In the meantime thankyou for your support and safe travels until we meet again, form Maggie Justin myself and all the Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2022

This is an exceptional but well-hidden hotel. The staff absolutely make the place unforgettable. Nothing is too much trouble and whether travelling for business or pleasure you'll find it nothing but a calming oasis but still very proximate to all Cape Town has to offer.

Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P6890UBthomasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Mckeon, Owner at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2022

Dear Thomas ,
Thank you for your stay with Wendy and Scott and for taking the time to share such a wonderful review .
We truly enjoyed hosting you for the mining Indaba and hope to welcome you back for a future family holiday when your next in The Mother City . Safe travels until we meet again , from myself and all the Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2022

we stayed at the glen for two weeks . Everyday from our excursions we felt like we were coming back home . From the lovely people at the reception . Especially Justin , Maggie, Nigel and Denzel were very welcoming and wanted to know how our days were . Justin would check on us every few minutes to make sure we were well and everything was ok . To the loving people at our service Blessings makes the best cocktails and is ever warm and welcoming . Tapiwa , Inga made our breakfast interactive . Trevor does the best massages . I would mention all name because they were all simply amazing . Would definitely recommend the Glen for stays in cape town . Will definitely go back again .

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wanguimunderu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Mckeon, Owner at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2022

Dear travel shore a ,
Thank you for your stay with us last week and a sincere thank you for this wonderful review of your time with us and travelling throughout the Cape Peninsula . Thank you for highlighting Maggie Justin Nigel Denzel Tapiwa Inga Blessing & Trevor's service following your break with us . We hope you travelled safely home to Nairobi and we look forward to sharing your new " home away from home " with you both again on your next trip to CT / South Africa . Safe Travels till then ,
Mark & all The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2022

The Glen was my first hotel in South Africa. And it did not disappoint. The airport pick-up was seamless. Indeed the car service was so good I will forgo unreliable Uber and book all my transportation directly through the hotel next time I am there. From the warm greeting every morning at breakfast to the complimentary fruit and chocolates during turn-down every evening I felt very much looked after as a solo traveler. I was given a spotless private room with a nice balcony on the top floor of the building. The overall vibe was upscale but comfortable. Professional without being stuffy. After returning from a safari I opted to stay at another hotel with a big reputation. It was fine. But frankly I wish I had return to the Glen instead.

Date of stay: February 2022
Thank SFGuy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Mckeon, Owner at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2022

Dear John ,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to share such a super remove of your Glen experience from your airport transfer to heading off on Safari .
The Glen Team and I are delighted we could be a positive first port of call and we all very much hope to welcome you back for a further relaxing time in the Mother City on your next South Africa vacation . Till then we all wish you safe travels and send our sincere appreciation for your review and selecting the Glen . Mark & all The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews