We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 222)
Filter reviews
1 222 results
Traveller rating
1 053
130
25
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 053
130
25
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea point gay friendly hotel the penthouse pool area nespresso machine welcome drink special thanks car hire the general manager our honeymoon breakfast was amazing cape point camps bay hot breakfast fantastic hotel standard room wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1 222 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

Location, style, atmosphere and so many other things are just perfect at the Glen. One of the best places we have stayed in Cape Town.
A couple of things they have not got right which may or may not effect your stay. WIFI is not overly great. Pool beds are super close together, one minute I was having to listen to someone’s conversation and the next was getting smoke from a fellow lounger in my face. Parts of the room needs bit of TLC, basic things like the towel rail was coming off, the bathroom door hinge was loose and in a place where water is at shortage I was surprised that the shower had a leak. All small things easy to fix.

Date of stay: December 2017
1  Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenHotelSpa, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. We have plenty of loungers for our guests to use and we hope on your next stay you will enjoy our loungers around our pool. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Cape Town and The Glen Boutique Hotel. Warm regards from the whole Glen Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

If you visit Cape Town this is unquestionably the one and only hotel you should stay in coz “ you’re worth it “

This hotel offers luxury, quality, class, delicious food, incredible and super friendly service and hospitality. It simply doesn’t get better than this.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank gregrack77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenHotelSpa, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Cape Town and The Glen Boutique Hotel. Warm regards from the whole Glen Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

The Glen has a certain je ne sais quoi that charms all its guests. It is not only one of the most beautiful, easily accessible hotels in Cape Town, the entire team dedicate and pride themselves in providing luxurious hospitality that exudes uBuntu! A philosophical Zulu term, that means "the belief in a universal bond of sharing that connects all humanity". It was the first time in our lives where this beautiful African term, submerged in their values and principles of royal hospitality, rang true.

One of the loveliest experiences of our lives. Thank you Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa team, for these beautiful memories. Chad & Ingrid

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IngridBellZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenHotelSpa, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Chad and Ingrid, it was an absolute pleasure to meet you both. Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We were pleased that you felt the bond of our team and the Glen. We are looking forward to you returning in the near future. Warm regards from the whole Glen Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

This was our third time staying at the Glen hotel and again it was fantastic. We travel a lot and I stay in hotels about 60-70 nights a year with my work and I must say that the Glen is in a league of it's own, it's a home away from home and a very special boutique hotel. The staff are fantastic and become your friend, so warm and welcoming every single one of them. There are not many hotels where the owner personally introduces himself and has a coffee and chat with you, this is what makes the Glen such a special hotel. The rooms and décor are stunning and I would highly recommend a massage and a tour of the Cape Point, ask for Phaldie, he was amazing, so friendly and knowledgeable, I could not recommend and speak highly enough about him. Keep up the good work guys, the Glen really is a special place and we can't wait to return again hopefully soon.

Room tip: We have stayed in 3 different rooms all of which have been lovely
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giglesoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenHotelSpa, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Cape Town and The Glen Boutique Hotel. Warm regards from the whole Glen Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Glen for 3 nights on our honeymoon. It is a gorgeous property, ideally located in the trendy Waterfront district with lots of good restaurants just a short walk away.

My wife and I chatted about whether to give the Glen 4 or 5 stars for a while, and we just feel that whilst we had a great stay it fell just short for the following reasons:

-Niels gave us a really warm welcome on arrival, and showed us to our room which was right by the pool on the ground floor. It wasn't private at all and we could hear people chatting pretty much right next to us from our bed. I spoke to Niels about this and made the point that given it was our honeymoon was there a chance we could move to a more private room. To his credit, he was fantastic and even upgraded us to a more private and spacious room. Whilst it all ended up better for us, i can't help but think that considering we had booked so far in advance the situation could have been dealt with better with more forward planning (for example, i had informed in the booking that it was our honeymoon, so potentially checking who has been allocated which room, as our initial one was noticeably the worst!).

-my wife and i love a good pasty at breakfast, but whilst there was a huge array of choice (which got me very excited!) they weren't fresh and were very disappointing. I'd say go for fewer options but do them better.

A big shout out to Phaldie, who collected us from the airport and took us to Franschhoek too. What a friendly and enthusiastic fellow he is. Just a really genuine and likeable guy, and very knowledgeable.

All in all we had a great stay at the Glen and I would recommend it, but just a few minor niggling points that mean it didn't quite have the wow factor we were hoping for!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenHotelSpa, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear Henry, thank you for your stay. We were surprised that you booked a superior standard room for your Honeymoon but were pleased to be able to offer you a free upgrade you upon arrival. All of our rooms are available to view on our website and we urge all guests to make use of this. Our Austrian pastries are baked daily by one of Cape Town's most established bakers to ensure quality and freshness.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your pickup with Phaldie was a highlight. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future maybe for a future anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews