We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$139
US$117
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$873
US$846
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$147
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1 153)
Filter reviews
1 153 results
Traveller rating
992
125
23
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
992
125
23
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea pointgay friendly hotelthe penthousepool areawelcome drinknespresso machinecar hirespecial thanksthe general managerhotel is beautifulcape pointour honeymooncamps baybreakfast was amazinghot breakfaststandard roomwonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 1 153 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2016

I could go on and on about this place but lets keep it simple.....

Every positive comment you have read is true and the few negative comments are surely outliers because after a four day stay at the Glen my wife and I are positive that Mark and Frederick do not accept anything less than comfortable and welcoming perfection.

Mark has built an incredible staff based on ownership and it shows. Every employee there cares about both the guests and the hotel. It's a rare and welcome experience to stay at a place that automatically makes you feel at home and a part of the family.

Must do;
1. Drink the "Truth" coffee. I've never heard of it before, but this will be one of the best coffees you've ever drank.
2. Have a Margarita and/or a Mojita at the poolside bar. No matter where we were during our sightseeing my wife and I could not wait to get back to the pool and have an M & M.
3. Take a wine tour with Faisal......guaranteed to be a highlight of your trip. For that matter, get to know Faisal as he has many wonderful suggestions.

Hope that was simple enough. You will not go wrong if you stay at the Glen Boutique.

Ciao for now,
S & K

Room Tip: Room 2 was a nice room....quiet and slightly secluded from the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steviemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear Steviemain,

What a beautiful review, you're a true gent! From Truth coffee, to refreshing margarita's... winelands tours with Faizel to simply relaxing poolside - you really nailed the perfect day from start to finish! We hope to see you back with us soon! Until next time!

All the best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

On arrival we received a warm friendly welcomed by your staff (Abigale, Cilla) and were shown to our room. Much to our surprise we were upgraded to Room 7, the room was perfectly clean, beautifully decorated and the shower enormous with Rain products that I actually used (hotel shampoos can be shocking).

The massage I received from Desmond was the best massage I have ever had in Cape Town. The temperature, ambiance and music created in the spa was exactly what one expects when needing to relax. We both agreed we will definitely be back .

And lastly, breakfast was at an international standard but not with the international prices normally associated with hotel breakfasts.

Room Tip: Room 7, ground floor, next to pool, spa but still quiet and private.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear Hilary I,

What a fantastic review! I have just shared your lovely feedback with Desmond and the Team, who like me, are delighted with your kind words :-) Thank you for making our morning Hilary! We look forward to welcoming you both back and making some more memories for you to cherish :-)

All the best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

I booked my fiance and I into a suite for our last night in SA. We'd traveled from PE, to Grahamstown to St Francis to Prince Albert to Pringle Bay and ended up here. It was a great place to unwind, indulge and relax.

I also booked us both into the SPA for a full body massage - which was a lovely end to the day, after which we were handed a complimentary glass of champagne. A lovely touch.

Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly and the room was superb. They'd thought of everything.

Room Tip: Room 1 is superb.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JamesHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear JamesHarrison,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and more so, made use of our fantastic Spa treatment and Valentines Special! We hope to see you again soon for a longer stay :-) until then, keep well!

All the best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We just got back from The Glen yesterday evening and our stay was lovely. The best thing about this hotel is the staff - incredibly attentive and polite and really give a personal touch to their clientele. We noticed many of the people there were returning guests and we can see why.
The rooms are beautifully decorated with lots of light pouring in and the breakfast is delicious (nice buffet spread as well as a cooked option).
The bed was very comfortable, good mattress (not too soft) and pillows.
The only thing stopping us from giving them full marks was the fact that the shower leaked, but they fixed that quickly and the spa, although the treatment was excellent, were doing some maintenance work during the treatment.
Otherwise a lovlely hotel, thank you to Derrick and the rest of the team!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smcs1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siya D, Front Office Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear smcs1708

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoy the breakfast. we are delighted that your trip was one of relaxation, and comfort. We do sincerely apologize about the maintenance work that was being done during your treatment... We can assure you it wont happen again. You were such lovely guests to host and host to get the pleasure of hosting on your return to Cape Town. Until Next time

All The Best,
Siya & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

We were absolutely impressed with everything this hotel had to offer, feeling more like a private resort than a hotel. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff who were extremely friendly, warm and attentive. We were particularly impressed when they upgraded our hire car when the original car we booked had not yet been returned. This was despite us turning up earlier to collect the car. The wifi is free, unlimited and very fast, unlike the other hotel we had stayed in. The hot and cold buffet breakfast was of a high quality, offering more than just your average toast, cereal and sweet pastries. The room was large and clean, with high quality shampoos and lotions provided. They also provide a 'turn down' service, which essentially prepares the bedroom for the evening by re-setting the bed. A nice added feature. All in all, feels like a home away from home. I highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay here again when next in Capetown.

Stayed: January 2016
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2016

Dear Tina W,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled your experience at the hotel was one to cherish and can only hope to see you back one day soon! We pride ourselves on our service at the Glen and simply had to upgrade you when the car you chose was not returned on time - anything to make your journey through Cape Town one to remember! Keep safe and see you next time :-)

All the best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews