We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel, I'd go back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We stayed at this hotel for six nights at high season and had a well appointed and comfortable ground floor, double room with a view from the window of Lion's Head. We were right next to the terrace where food is served outside and so could hear noisy folk outside but they went to bed and overall the hotel is quiet. It is what it says on the tin - it is small and intimate and that little bit more quirky than a big chain hotel. It is located perhaps 600 metres from the beach and 400 metres from the main street of Sea Point, with its shops and restaurants. There is free parking, either in a small gated space at the front or in an underground car park at the back and security seems good. The staff were all friendly and helpful, wi fi is free (charges for wi fi is one of my pet hates). There is a pretty pool but it is more of the plunge pool variety than one where you go for a meaningful swim - but that is true of 95% of hotels. The buffet breakfast was varied and suited me well.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BAF_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Dear BAF_52,

Thank you for your kind review, we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Glen and even more pleased to hear you'll definitely be back! Looking forward to it :-) Until then keep well!

All the best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 412 of 1 128 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2016

I could go on and on about this place but lets keep it simple.....

Every positive comment you have read is true and the few negative comments are surely outliers because after a four day stay at the Glen my wife and I are positive that Mark and Frederick do not accept anything less than comfortable and welcoming perfection.

Mark has built an incredible staff based on ownership and it shows. Every employee there cares about both the guests and the hotel. It's a rare and welcome experience to stay at a place that automatically makes you feel at home and a part of the family.

Must do;
1. Drink the "Truth" coffee. I've never heard of it before, but this will be one of the best coffees you've ever drank.
2. Have a Margarita and/or a Mojita at the poolside bar. No matter where we were during our sightseeing my wife and I could not wait to get back to the pool and have an M & M.
3. Take a wine tour with Faisal......guaranteed to be a highlight of your trip. For that matter, get to know Faisal as he has many wonderful suggestions.

Hope that was simple enough. You will not go wrong if you stay at the Glen Boutique.

Ciao for now,
S & K

Room Tip: Room 2 was a nice room....quiet and slightly secluded from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steviemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear Steviemain,

What a beautiful review, you're a true gent! From Truth coffee, to refreshing margarita's... winelands tours with Faizel to simply relaxing poolside - you really nailed the perfect day from start to finish! We hope to see you back with us soon! Until next time!

All the best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

On arrival we received a warm friendly welcomed by your staff (Abigale, Cilla) and were shown to our room. Much to our surprise we were upgraded to Room 7, the room was perfectly clean, beautifully decorated and the shower enormous with Rain products that I actually used (hotel shampoos can be shocking).

The massage I received from Desmond was the best massage I have ever had in Cape Town. The temperature, ambiance and music created in the spa was exactly what one expects when needing to relax. We both agreed we will definitely be back .

And lastly, breakfast was at an international standard but not with the international prices normally associated with hotel breakfasts.

Room Tip: Room 7, ground floor, next to pool, spa but still quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear Hilary I,

What a fantastic review! I have just shared your lovely feedback with Desmond and the Team, who like me, are delighted with your kind words :-) Thank you for making our morning Hilary! We look forward to welcoming you both back and making some more memories for you to cherish :-)

All the best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

I booked my fiance and I into a suite for our last night in SA. We'd traveled from PE, to Grahamstown to St Francis to Prince Albert to Pringle Bay and ended up here. It was a great place to unwind, indulge and relax.

I also booked us both into the SPA for a full body massage - which was a lovely end to the day, after which we were handed a complimentary glass of champagne. A lovely touch.

Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly and the room was superb. They'd thought of everything.

Room Tip: Room 1 is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JamesHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeSetchell, Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear JamesHarrison,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and more so, made use of our fantastic Spa treatment and Valentines Special! We hope to see you again soon for a longer stay :-) until then, keep well!

All the best,
Joe & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We just got back from The Glen yesterday evening and our stay was lovely. The best thing about this hotel is the staff - incredibly attentive and polite and really give a personal touch to their clientele. We noticed many of the people there were returning guests and we can see why.
The rooms are beautifully decorated with lots of light pouring in and the breakfast is delicious (nice buffet spread as well as a cooked option).
The bed was very comfortable, good mattress (not too soft) and pillows.
The only thing stopping us from giving them full marks was the fact that the shower leaked, but they fixed that quickly and the spa, although the treatment was excellent, were doing some maintenance work during the treatment.
Otherwise a lovlely hotel, thank you to Derrick and the rest of the team!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smcs1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siya D, Front Office Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Dear smcs1708

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoy the breakfast. we are delighted that your trip was one of relaxation, and comfort. We do sincerely apologize about the maintenance work that was being done during your treatment... We can assure you it wont happen again. You were such lovely guests to host and host to get the pleasure of hosting on your return to Cape Town. Until Next time

All The Best,
Siya & The Glen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 472 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 447 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 529 - R 5 038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For availability please book directly with us between 1st November 2017 until 31st March 2018. We have limited availability on all partner sites The Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa is the perfect destination for travellers who are looking to unwind, relax and explore the very best Cape Town has to offer. Our team are dedicated to making your stay as memorable as possible filled with wonderful experiences and treasured moments you’ll cherish for years to come. The Glen is chic, tastefully styled, and will embrace you in its warmth. The hotel has 24 individually furnished rooms, ranging from Standard, Deluxe and Suites, through to the crème de la crème of our stunning Penthouse - with direct lift access. The hotel itself is rich in décor and modern artwork, and most rooms come with their own balcony or private terrace. The Glen also offer 3 other properties, G on Barkly, G on Herbert and G on Rochester with their own unique self contained facilities. these properties are perfect for families and groups looking for a high standard of living and accommodation - please enquire directly with us for more details. Our G Spa is inspired to bring you complete wellness and honours the African principle of natural beauty. All treatments are designed to take you on a journey of rejuvenation with our trained massage therapists, who are there to help you to discover a whole new level of relaxation. Our sun terrace and cascading pools are the ideal spot for you to relax and enjoy the warmth of South Africa. Our outdoor Jacuzzi is ideal for evening sunset, and our spa includes a sauna, steam room and hot tub for your enjoyment, open from 6pm to 11pm. The G Kitchen hosts breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving a combination of Mediterranean and South African cuisine. Braai’s are held weekly during summer (Sept to April), where guests can enjoy traditional food and relax by the pool with one of our legendary cocktails. Our G Car Hire service has a fleet of luxury vehicles; from city runarounds to top end convertibles. For those who prefer to be driven around, we have experienced chauffeurs to take you anywhere in the City. Cape Town is known for its beautiful people, breathtaking scenery and rich history. To make sure you don’t miss any of these, we offer bespoke Tours and Activities, for both half days and full day experiences. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV, all guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. The Hotel is located in Sea Point, Cape Town and is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as a luxury airport transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing