We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat.”
Review of Cafe Charles

Cafe Charles
Ranked #45 of 1 194 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: R 95 - R 295
Description: Sadly we will be CLOSING OUR CAFE DOORS Sunday 28.04.24 - do pop in before that for one last eggs benny, cuppa or glass of wine! It’s been one helluva ride since 2016!! Much love to all our fantastic patrons over these past 8years. We will miss you!! x A quaint and cosy café situated in the heart of De Waterkant. Café Charles serves up a tasty breakfast fare, light lunch options, artisan small batch coffee, organic tea, local Cape Malay specialities and other delicious treats. The garden area with fountain is a favourite spot to enjoy a relaxed lunch and glass of wine under the shade of the old, winding, red peppercorn tree. The small dining room with antique fireplace is perfect for coffee dates or quick business meet-ups, but on warmer days be sure to put on your sunnies and SPF and enjoy the city views from the roof deck!
Restaurant details
Description: Sadly we will be CLOSING OUR CAFE DOORS Sunday 28.04.24 - do pop in before that for one last eggs benny, cuppa or glass of wine! It’s been one helluva ride since 2016!! Much love to all our fantastic patrons over these past 8years. We will miss you!! x A quaint and cosy café situated in the heart of De Waterkant. Café Charles serves up a tasty breakfast fare, light lunch options, artisan small batch coffee, organic tea, local Cape Malay specialities and other delicious treats. The garden area with fountain is a favourite spot to enjoy a relaxed lunch and glass of wine under the shade of the old, winding, red peppercorn tree. The small dining room with antique fireplace is perfect for coffee dates or quick business meet-ups, but on warmer days be sure to put on your sunnies and SPF and enjoy the city views from the roof deck!
Reviewed 13 April 2024

A favourite for a host of reasons: warm friendly service in a wonderful setting under a beautiful tree - with so many delicious breakfast offerings made with quality local ingredients. So sad that the landlord has refused to renew their lease.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dusanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

What was meant to be a romantic breakfast turned totally disastrous. Management poorly dealt with the situation and there mistake. They had opportunity to make us happy yet they chose not to. What’s with the deal of seating us at a four seater table especially as we booked that table two days prior and for your information that table was unoccupied the whole time we were there. Waiter attitude was disgusting towards us after this incident. We were charged corkage which should have been wavered making up for there mistake and to top it off they refused to bring us an ice bucket. Shocking behaviour yet the food was good but good food with a bad mood just doesn’t cut it. Your management needs adjusting. You have a great location no doubt but bad service people talk about we won’t be back

Date of visit: March 2024
1  Thank Odyssey21175796715
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tini Bee, Owner at Cafe Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Hi Ronnie, we are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us and that you feel that we gave you bad service. When you made your reservation while visiting us on the Wednesday evening requesting the specific 4 seater table, the waiteress kindly informed you that the 4 seater table would not be available for 2 people to sit at especially over a busy period (which you booked for) as larger tables are used for larger groups and that a 2 seater (still situated under the tree) would be reserved for you. On Thursday afternoon you changed your reservation for the Friday evening to the Saturday morning, but no time was given. The manager on duty then called you to confirm a time and all was fine. On Saturday morning a 2 seater under the tree was reserved for you. When you arrived for your 10:30am reservation you were not happy with the specific table that was reserved for you. Unfortunately at that time of day (breakfast service) all other tables were occupied/reserved and management was not able to move you. You continued to mention the 4 seater “you had booked” even though it was previously explained, when you booked, that you would not get the 4 seater. You and your partner then sat at your reserved table and took out a bottle of sparkling rose. Your waiter proceeded to explain that we do charge a corkage fee however you then told him that it should be waived as the whole table seating “error” was our fault and that we had ruined the vibe. Your waiter also offered you an ice bucket for your bottle of bubbly but you declined. A 2 seater table next to yours freed up and yourself and your partner moved over to that table instead, where you remained for the rest of your visit with us. *for your information, the table you refer to as unoccupied the whole time you were there, was indeed occupied the whole time you were there. The table vacated 20mins prior to your departure. We checked the sales systems.* As the owner, I do believe my team did the best they could in the moment. Every feedback, good or bad, is taken as constructive criticism and will be used as such. Happy that you enjoyed the food and will pass on the compliments. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2024

We were slightly late for lunch but The Charles kept us in our good New Year’s Day mood.
Great attentive service, helpful with the selection off the menu, recommended exactly what turned out to be a first time experience: tasty ostrich red meat steak and a delicious mushroom risotto.

Impressive selection of fine wines are available and other high quality drinks.
Favourite however was the Red Cappuccino (a rooibos tea based drink), that little cinnamon sprinkle makes a huge difference.
All of that we enjoyed under a super big natural umbrella: a massive black pepper tree which changes this street very nice corner curb side cafe into a garden.
We will be back (incl. ID booklet)

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dream06548806968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2023 via mobile

What a pleasant place for breakfast and a light meal. Quaint and well run. I sat outside on the upstairs terrace. Beautiful views into town and all the brightly colored buildings.

Date of visit: November 2023
1  Thank heathgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2023 via mobile

We are breakfast in this lovely cafe almost every day for 2 weeks and it was pure delight sitting under the big old peppercorn tree. Food was excellent, but the staff were amazing. All so friendly and helpful. Highly recommended and they start serving breakfast at 7am. Another bonus.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank 800issib
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cafe Charles also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.