We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful evening”
Review of Cafe Charles

Cafe Charles
Ranked #44 of 1 186 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: R 95 - R 295
Description: A quaint and cosy café situated in the heart of De Waterkant. Café Charles serves up a tasty breakfast fare, light lunch options, artisan small batch coffee, organic tea, local Cape Malay specialities and other delicious treats. The garden area with fountain is a favourite spot to enjoy a relaxed lunch and glass of wine under the shade of the old, winding, red peppercorn tree. The small dining room with antique fireplace is perfect for coffee dates or quick business meet-ups, but on warmer days be sure to put on your sunnies and SPF and enjoy the city views from the roof deck!
Restaurant details
Description: A quaint and cosy café situated in the heart of De Waterkant. Café Charles serves up a tasty breakfast fare, light lunch options, artisan small batch coffee, organic tea, local Cape Malay specialities and other delicious treats. The garden area with fountain is a favourite spot to enjoy a relaxed lunch and glass of wine under the shade of the old, winding, red peppercorn tree. The small dining room with antique fireplace is perfect for coffee dates or quick business meet-ups, but on warmer days be sure to put on your sunnies and SPF and enjoy the city views from the roof deck!
Reviewed 16 April 2021

I made the right decision to arrange a reservation at Cafe Charles, I brought friends from joburg to Cape Town, to experience the best of the best of Cape Town, and tonight’s visit was nothing short of perfection.
From the ambience and the setting on the opened roof deck especially opened for dinner service with the customer service, the management, the servers...it was all on point....
I had the mushroom risotto...and it blew my mind!!!!
The attentive staff, the gorgeous setting and delicious food all made for a truly amazing evening!
Watching the sunset in the heart of the De Waterkant village was magical!!!!

I STRONGLY suggest experiencing Cafe Charles for their dinner service...
I’ve eaten there many times for breakfast which is outstanding but dinner blew my mind. Every single beautiful touch was on point.

Justine and Peter and our server Allan were all truly incredible.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Lainy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark, Owner at Cafe Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your support and hope to open up for dinners again every night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2021

I was excited by the great quality of the coffee, and the very professional service. The food was presented well, but honestly it was awful. I ordered and paid extra for seeded bread - it was not even toasted (ordered egg on toast), was mushy, bland and thin. The scone was very crumbly - either had been frozen before, or was stale, or just wasn't a good bake. Definitely over-toasted as well.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rachel_Smouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LadyJay80, Owner at Cafe Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and allow us to apologise. We seemed to have messed it up on this particular day. Your review inspired us to take a hard look at our scone dish and because of your honesty we have revised the dish and come up with something more soft, delicate and delicious than before! So thank you! Please come try it, on us! As for the toast... the buckwheat seeded bread is brought in by a supplier and unfortunately we have no say in their recipe or slice size... It is priced as an extra (stated on our menu) as it is a speciality item for gluten intolerant/vegan clientele. Once again, you inspired us.. to plate that dish differently to avoid the “mushiness” in future! Take care, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2021 via mobile

It’s amazing! Incredible fresh & mostly organic food at reasonable prices! Lovely staff, service & a great view from the rooftop where you can enjoy amazing food with an ambience. Great breakfasts and amazing lunches! You must try the almond croissant and the cape Malay curries, wow!!!! Excellent wine list & cute street! Make it an adventure! Oh & the best mushroom risotto!!!!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank GregTitaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark, Owner at Cafe Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2021

Hi Greg, thank you for your visit to our place and review. Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2021 via mobile

Amazing food and great service. Locally sourced quality ingredients which make this sidewalk cafe with great views one of the best restaurants in Cape Town. Mark and Justine run a tight ship whilst making sure that their staff are on the ball serving beautifully presented food which taste really delicious .
Such a pleasure and treat being attended to at this restaurant in the beautiful and colourful De Waterkant area in Cpt .

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank Jasjhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark, Owner at Cafe Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2021

Thank you Jas, happy you enjoyed our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2020 via mobile

We attended the SIJN IN THE CITY food and wine pairing at Charles Café in De Waterkant. Wow!! (normally only breakfast, cakes and lunch) Everything was perfect. Mark and Justine were the ideal hosts. From the lovely Sijn wines to the exquisite 5-course dinner, the room where we slept, and the breakfast, ohhhhh the breakfast... The smoked trout benedict was just perfect, the almond croissant the best we ever had, the coffee really some of the best in Cape Town. Just go there. As soon as you can....

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank Minds12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LadyJay80, Owner at Cafe Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thank you so much!! It was an absolute pleasure to have you join us for such a special occasion, and to stay the night in the guesthouse. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Charles also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.