We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak; Good Service;”

The Famous Butchers Grill
Ranked #308 of 1 299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Famous Butchers Grill is a sexy steakhouse located in the Cape Town Lodge Hotel in Cape Town's city centre. Not only are the steaks amazing, but the restaurant also offers LIVE entertainment 7 days a week.
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

Came here with some friends for a late dinner after a long wander around The First Thursday Art Galleries. Staff were friendly & efficient & the steak was truly delicious - I opted for the 350g Filet which I requested "Blue" & it literally melted in my mouth. My friends also ate Filet but requested it Well Done!! The sides of Baked potato, salad & veg while not exciting were definitely adequate & went well with the steaks. We washed it all down with a bottle of delicious Stellenbosch Merlot. Good value for money in the heart of the city......

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank 756margueritew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2015

We had a lovely cosy table near the wine cellar. The steaks and the wine was excellent also the waiter Kumbi looked after us really well. Cape Town is a serious destination where the rand compared to the pound is very good value. The same meal in London would have cost 4 times over!!! With all the trouble in Europe Cape Town a wonderful destination. I was very impressed and will be back.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 290Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Having been in the aviation industry I have been fortunate to have dined in some great Restuarants but I must say this was one of the good ones Yes we drank exspensive wine and we chose Australian Wagu prime rib It was perfectly cooked and tender like butter The waiter John from the Congo was terrific 6 steaks and no complaints That takes some beating.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pilot1443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

The food here is excellent with very good service. Steaks specially martured on the premises. Kingklip also excellent.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank ben g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Four nights in Cape Town we had to visit this restaurant overlooking the ocean twice !!

Quite literally a butcher's shop with raw meat available to buy, there is a large VERY busy....sometimes TOO busy restaurant attached - you MUST book to get in !

I started with the skewered Lambs Kidneys with black pepper, followed by THE most amazingly tender T-bone I have EVER had.....absolutely amazing. My wife had the thickest most tender and tasty fillet she ever had too !! And given the strength of the pound against the Rand, it makes for a bargain feast !!

Service was excellent - don't just visit once !!

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RichCotswoldChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Famous Butchers Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Famous Butchers Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing