We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant cafe and deli”
Review of Will's Cafe & Deli

Will's Cafe & Deli
Ranked #391 of 1 299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Ideal if you are staying in the Upper Orange District. Good menu at a very reasonable price. We enjoyed a meal after a long day sightseeing - note they close at 8pm

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We were staying close by and found this place by accident at lunchtime. We had sweet chilli Thai chicken on olive ciabatta and smoked chicken on wholewheat ciabatta. Both were gorgeous: everything fresh and packed full of ingredients. We had mango smoothies and carrot and ginger drinks: again, equally delicious. Then we finished with homemade carrot cake and rooibos tea. Very competitively priced, great service and a place we will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: September 2017
2  Thank AwayfromParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We came here a few times due to the fact that there was not a restaurant within walking distance of our accommodation that only offered breakfast. They have a bar that serves wine and some alcohols, or you can buy a bottle of wine here as well. They have some prepackaged salads and foods available, as well as fruit and cheese. You can order from a menu sandwiches, a few meals, and salad. They also have there some hot meal choices that are already cooked and can be heated for you. Bread, croissants, etc. are also available as well as some desert options. We can vouch for the hot chocolate, cappuccino, tea (was terrible), hamburger (it was okay), croissant, chocolate croissant, sweet Thai chili chicken (best thing we ate), and tomato/mozzarella salad.
Very friendly staff. The cafe seems to be the regular hangout of the local residents, as you see a lot of the same people at different times of the day.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank DayDreamer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Will's was just down the street from the Acorn House where we were staying. It is not fancy but has a unique atmosphere and very friendly people. They have everything from fresh eggs to salads and premade sandwiches if you want to grab and go but the cook to order is even better. We ate there twice in our five days and had wonderful conversations with the owner, Will, who is an extremely interesting man.

Date of visit: June 2017
2  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Stayed just across the road in a B&B. Went to Will's several times. Great selection of food but we ordered 6 sandwiches to take away and there were only 5 when we opened the bag. They did replace the one that was missing. Another time they had run out of croissant and I asked for plain white bread but was given toast. The sandwiches are huge and taste wonderful though. Well worth the money. Wine is sold either by the bottle or by 250ml carafe. Service leaves a bit to be desired but overall worth the hassle. Would be there frequently if I lived nearby.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trish f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Will's Cafe & Deli also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Will's Cafe & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing