We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood”

The Greek Fisherman
Ranked #57 of 1 190 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Restaurant details
Description: Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

Lovely food. We had a seafood Platter for 2 and it came to R550, but it was worth it. Shame they didn't have crabs (hence 4 star). But the food and service were good.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank prashan3253
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2024

We had a superb dinner at The Greek Fisherman last evening. The weather was perfect and thus a pleasure to sit in the large outdoor patio. The courtyard became completely full, but the service was excellent. My Moussaka was the best I've ever had, and Susan's fish soup was delicious. Truly an outstanding restaurant experience.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Been to the Greek Fidhetman many times and have always enjoyed the food and experience.
Unfortunately, the rats running around the ground is a real turn off.
I spoke with the owner who said there was nothing he can do about it. No rat box’s could be seen and the owner was very matter of a fact about it.
I was there last October when I thought I saw something scurrying across the floor, but thought I was seeing things.
This time I certainly wasn’t seeing things, even the waiter confirmed seeing them.
Unfortunately, I won’t go again until they sort out the rat problem!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

I recently went for dinner hosting incentive for a group from Mozambique. We had the best time. The FOOD is abosolutely DIVINE.
Georginia and all the waiters were the best *****

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Curiosity28450056324
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2024 via mobile

A great welcome from all the team at the Greek Fisherman’s . We visited for dinner twice and we were not disappointed on either visit. Gorgeous food Sirloin steak along with Seafood skewer au can highly recommend. We sat inside on one occasion & outside on another. Really busy so perhaps book .

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Greek Fisherman also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Greek Fisherman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.