We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

The Greek Fisherman
Ranked #59 of 1 193 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Restaurant details
Description: Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Reviewed 28 February 2024 via mobile

We walked past one night and saw a crowd waiting to dine so we made a booking. It just happened to be Valentine’s Day so we had to have the set menu. I think the al La carte would have been better. The seafood option came with a rice/spinach side which we both tasted but didn’t eat. It was way overcooked and had a bitter flavor. Oysters were advertised on the set menu but weren’t available (the waitress told me they were re-using old menu’s). Why would you do that? A gentleman who I assume was the owner was parading around with a clip board and appeared to be ticking off guests as they arrived. I think it would be nice if this gentleman had have dressed for the occasion. A woman who I think was his wife was beautifully dressed, all the staff were well dressed in uniforms and this guy wore a polo which was stretched and poor fitting jeans . A little effort would help the ambiance. The best thing about the evening was the guy singing. He was 10/10

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Petal090
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

Friday night dinner in a nice garden with blankets if we needed them. Very friendly and mind staff food served with a smile. We tried dolmades, spinkopita and courgette fritters to start. Well seasoned and tasty. I thought the fish kebab was delicious. Generous chunks of kinkklip, tender calamari and a couple of decent prawns. All washed down with Durbanville Hills Sauvignon blanc. Very nice evening

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Beautiful European atmosphere in the garden and lovely friendly service. Food great too… seafood & lamb both delicious.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Looking for a change from our hotel menu, found this great Greek restaurant on bustling Regent Road,Sea Point, a short walk from our hotel. Based in a large converted corner house, with an outside dining section, we went inside as place very busy & no room outside. An excellent varied reasonably priced menu, we plumped for a Hummus & Pitta Bread shared starter, followed by a shared Chicken Souvlaki with a Greek Village Salad, all huge portions. Service a bit slow as they had a large party to cater for outside, but staff very friendly & helpful. With drinks & a tip around £20. In UK would cost more than double; highly recommended

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mojoblue717
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by our tour guide and it did not disappoint. The Greek menu was extensive and the waiter was very helpful. The food, was freshly cooked, so there was a little wait but when it arrived it was delicious. So good that we went back a second time

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Rowena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Greek Fisherman also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Greek Fisherman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.