We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delisious Greek food in Sea Point”

The Greek Fisherman
Ranked #57 of 1 190 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Restaurant details
Description: Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Reviewed 2 February 2024 via mobile

My go to in Cape Town for the most delisious Grilled Calamari and Beef souvlaki. Give them a try, you won't be disappointed!

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

Thankfully, there were plenty of vegetarian options. I had the vegetarian moussaka which was delicious. We had to sit indoors because it was very windy but the atmosphere inside was lovely.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Nina_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

Seated outside at dusk we had to move due to birds roosting overhead and dropping what they do. Food mediocre compared to other places. Nice setting but not worth the trip there.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank davidmI7842NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2023 via mobile

We had a party of 59 people for Christmas Dinner… Iam a cook myself amd understand the complexities of Volume & food preparation, well this was a Great surprise and an magnificent experience. No one can stop talking of the Greek lamb that just fell off the bone, and tasted better than lamb in Greece…!! The salmon was cooked to a moist and flavoursome perfection. Our calamari starters & Haloumi were perfect. The SERVICE..wow, we all tipped in Extra as everyone was so impressed. Food came out on time & the music perfect… just can’t stop raving about outr experience…!! Tony Masmanides

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Masmanides
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2023

Mediocre food. Prawns tasted like they had been cooked & then re-heated so they were actually overcooked. Mussels were small and tough. There are much better places to eat in Cape Town.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PAlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Greek Fisherman also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Greek Fisherman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.