We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delicious!”
Review of Greek Fisherman

Greek Fisherman
Ranked #111 of 1 243 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Restaurant details
Description: Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our dinner at this beautiful Greek themed restaurant. The grilled calamari and the beef Gyros were simply delicious...and the Loukoumades dessert was a yummy suggestion from our friendly waiter

Hope to be back soon!

Thank Muhammad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were made very welcome. Restaurant was very quiet at this time of the year. Starters were ok but the prawns in the prawn saganaki hadn’t been peeled so as the dish was hot it was very difficult to eat. The seafood screwers were excellent. My husband was very disappointed with the baklava because they were very dry and lacking in honey.

Thank 30Annemarie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When in the Mother City and craving for seafood, The Greek Restaurant is one place you should consider when wanting to fill up with Mediterranean inspired cuisine. The food here is lovingly prepared and there is enough in the menu to satisfy all types of palates. The seafood is definitely fresh and tastes just right. Even vegetarians can have a fair selection of green meals that are very filling. The service and ambiance is very nice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

We just love this restaurant. Service is always excellent. Special thanks to Godfrey for being polite and friendly. Basically the only restaurant we visit whenever we are at the waterfront. The food is amazing and the portion size is quite large. Real value for money. Keep up the excellent service guys. See you soon

Thank Bronwin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

We love reading reviews from guests that obviously have a fantastic palate and understand food.

Many thanks
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Wine was good, lamb was cooked well, tzatziki, hummus and taramasalata also quite good. Vegetarian moussaka dish was terrible. Staff wasn’t attentive enough being that we were the only people in there. Manager did comp the moussaka meal and attempt to make things better, but was also defensive and insisted that the potatoes and moussaka were fresh and made daily when that did not seem to be the case.

Thank Islastyle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback, however we disagree with your assessment of the potatoes and moussaka. We however do respect your opinion and at no point did anyone get offensive, although you told us our food wasn't fresh, when everything in our kitchen is made fresh daily. We have been trading for 25 years in the V&A Waterfront with people raving about the quality of our food. We do hope that we get another opportunity to wow you with our food in the future.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greek Fisherman also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Greek Fisherman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing