We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous lunch”
Review of Greek Fisherman

Greek Fisherman
Ranked #99 of 1 257 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Restaurant details
Description: Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Reviewed 28 November 2017

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our lunch of a trio of dips, a selection of breads and grilled sardines washed down by a large glass odfexcellent chilled wine. Out waiter was attentive and very friendly. We might even return for an evening meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robtee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the wonderful review.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 104 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

We had Lunch their. The time to prepare the food was a bit slow even though they were not full. It was worth the wait. I had the prawns with feta it was creamy and delicious. My sister and daughter had the stuffed calamari it was really good. I ordered the stuffed Tomatoe for my husband and he said it was fantastic with a very generous portion. Calamari and chips for our toddler who guzzled it.

Thank InezzPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate the feedback.
We apologize for the time you waited on your food, but delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Lively place with really friendly staff. Very reasonable price and food was good. Good views across the V and A waterfront.

Thank MrsC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the review.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

The waitress were rude and not really helpfull, at least the wine and the dishes were very good and of course the location.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pau F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the review. We are shocked to read that the service was not up to standard. Please could you mail us with more information to assist us to investigate this complaint. Our email address info@greekfisherman.co.za

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Vacation in Cape Town South Africa. Friend recommended this place. We were not impressed. Ordered grill octopus . But seem like it’s not grilled it is steamed the it is very tough ! My friends ordered at the moussaka it is not very traditional greek moussaka either they have the great view but the food just so so .

Thank Jianquan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryn348, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our octopus is grilled and not steamed. As you might be aware, octopus is tough in comparison to calamari. I am not sure how much time you have spent in Greece, but each island has quite a unique moussaka. Our family comes from the West and our moussaka is made from our family recipe that have been handed down for generations. We have been trading in the V&A Waterfront for 25 years and this is the first time someone has had something negative to say about our incredible moussaka. We see that you also visited our sister restaurant. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your experience there.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greek Fisherman also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Greek Fisherman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing