We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Moussaka eaten in years”
Review of Greek Fisherman

Greek Fisherman
Ranked #93 of 1 299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Restaurant details
Description: Here at the greek fisherman, we are proud of our roots, so expect traditional greek and mediterranean dishes. But, we also believe in moving with the times, so we've added a modern twist to our otherwise classic menu. Our cuisine includes greek & seafood specialities and we are famous for our greek meze, our souvla (spit roast) and our stunning lamb in the oven. Choose from over 20 meze, starters and tapas! Established in 1992, the greek fisherman is one of the original restaurants in the v&a waterfront and is still owned by the same owners as when the victoria wharf, waterfront opened in 1992. Take a seat and get a glorious view of table mountain while you enjoy delicious seafood and meats grilled over open charcoals.
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Delicious starters, good fresh seafood and the tastiest Moussaka eaten in a long time. Wonderful setting with slick friendly service and many personal touches, such as a complimentary sherry on arrival.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spenceley2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrynieuwoudtcg, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the wonderful review. Our Moussaka is an old family recipe and we have to agree, it is absolutely amazing. We really appreciate the wonderful feedback.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 328 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2016

While visiting the Waterfront, the most difficult choice was deciding on which restaurant to eat in. They all looked amazing, and we decided to go the Greek Fisherman. The food and service was exceptional. I had the local fish called Kingklip, actually an eel, while my wife had grilled prawns, and we shared the grilled calamari.

The food, service, atmosphere, and view were all amazing. You will not be disappointed !!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gbobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrynieuwoudtcg, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for this absolutely amazing review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant.

We hope to see you back here soon.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

What an awesome experience from the Greek Fishermans. Having a Pre Ramadaan lunch and enjoyd the Oven Lamb Roast. Excellent customer service from Darisa Willemse and Hostess Emily who spoilt us and made it all worthwhile.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank soelaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrynieuwoudtcg, Guest Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2016

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the experience. We will definitely send your comments to Darisa, one of our most trusted and longstanding waitresses at the Greek Fisherman.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Well done on your guys' service! We were made to feel very welcome due to the friendliness with which we were greeted by ladies in front. Our waitress was very attentive, constantly keeping an eye on the level of wine in our glasses. The food was great and very tasty! I had their mixed seafood skewer and my girlfriend had their seafood pasta, I'd definitely recommend their seafood pasta to anyone! Well done and thanks for a great evening

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank MattSnyman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

While visiting Cape Town for the first time, we received outstanding service from the owner and her staff at The Greek Fisherman. We hope to return one day as my family and I had an fabulous lunch time meal with fantastic wines and were treated by the owner to an unexpected surprise special dessert. The service and beautiful upstairs views of the V&A Waterfront made this a very special meal. Thank you Greek Fisherman for a terrific welcome to Cape Town. Cheers.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank ethornton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrynieuwoudtcg, Public Relations Manager at Greek Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Reviewer

We are delighted to read that you had such a pleasant experience at our restaurant. We believe in the family restaurant experience. We have been offering our family experience for the past 25 years in the V&A Waterfront.

Hope to see you back here on your next visit to Cape Town.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greek Fisherman also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Greek Fisherman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing