We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, highly recommended”
Review of Osteria Tarantino

Osteria Tarantino
Ranked #8 of 1 193 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 120 - R 320
Description: Authentic Italian family-owned restaurant. Fresh Italian dishes by Chef Enrico Tarantino. Bookings essential via phone, WhatsApp or SMS. No email bookings.
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Italian family-owned restaurant. Fresh Italian dishes by Chef Enrico Tarantino. Bookings essential via phone, WhatsApp or SMS. No email bookings.
Reviewed 2 April 2024

Excellent restaurant. Fantastic ravioli, all our meal was great. Service also brilliant. Very busy spot, recommend booking. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank suz12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2024

Delicious dinner by wonderful host Enrico and manager.
Loved our friendly service we felt like we were in Europe in a quarter of a quaint city.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gaby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2024

The waiter who served us, along with Enrico, the owner, were phenomenally friendly.

The food was absolutely delicious, and reminded me a lot of my time travelling through rural Italy. It was extremely simple, but high in quality and abundant in taste.

I personally recommend the 4P ravioli with tomato-based sauce.

Enhancing the setting, the background classical music was delightful, giving a real sense of Italy in the restaurant. The presence, taste, and style of Italy were evident in everything

We visited on a Monday night and it was so good we had to come back for Lunch the next day before our flight out of Cape Town.

One of the best restaurants around - cannot recommend you visit here strongly enough! Go go go.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank williammU8615IO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

Amazing food. Unpretentious restaurant. On a quiet street. Best pasta dishes. The owner is very kind. The service is great.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Annabel1Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2024

Tarantino's is arguably the best authentic Italian pasta joint in town. The pappardelle (of course handmade) carbonara was perfect. Crisp pork cheek, not chewy and not swimming in cream. My wife had a tomato-based spinach ravioli which I tasted was as great. The highlight was the octopus and (2) prawns starter from the Chef's Table which was so tender and full of flavour. At R120 per portion, quite enough to be shared or eaten as a main.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PierreStrydom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Osteria Tarantino also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Osteria Tarantino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.