We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Osteria Tarantino

Osteria Tarantino
Ranked #8 of 1 194 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 120 - R 320
Description: Authentic Italian family-owned restaurant. Fresh Italian dishes by Chef Enrico Tarantino. Bookings essential via phone, WhatsApp or SMS. No email bookings.
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Italian family-owned restaurant. Fresh Italian dishes by Chef Enrico Tarantino. Bookings essential via phone, WhatsApp or SMS. No email bookings.
Reviewed 28 December 2023 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem for authentic Italian food! My husband and I randomly found it and were amazed by it all. The quality of the food and its ingredients was outstanding. Service was excellent. Make sure you make reservations.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Excursion31486577013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2023 via mobile

Incredible hidden and small restsutant - less than 30 covers - with beautiful food indicated on the menu on the wall and explained by the owner himself . Very tasty and generous portions in a grest atmosphere : everything was spot on . An incredible place not to be missed

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank 81michelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2023 via mobile

What a great place to eat! Osteria Tarantino is run and owned by Enrico who is the most friendly and accommodating host you could wish for. Like many Osteria’s the menus is simple but exquisite.
From beautiful pasta dishes to sumptuous mains, the whole menu is to die for.
They also have a great selection of both world and local wines and all this is offered in the setting of a delightful family atmosphere.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Cardus-Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2023

My visit to this restaurant left much to be desired. The owner's lack of intervention allowed unruly customers to disrupt the ambiance by shouting and mocking other tables. The atmosphere was anything but enjoyable, with no effort from the owner to maintain order. Adding to the disappointment, the waitress provided subpar service, creating an impression that we were inconveniencing him. A regrettable dining experience marked by poor management and indifferent staff.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank liam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2023 via mobile

I had an extremely disappointing experience at this restaurant. The owner was unhelpful and allowed other customers to disrupt the atmosphere by shouting and making fun of other tables. Shockingly, he did nothing to address the situation. Additionally, the waitress provided terrible service, making it seem like she was doing us a favor. Overall, an unpleasant dining experience with poor management and unprofessional staff.
If I could rate this 0 I certainly would!

Date of visit: November 2023
1  Thank deanmm2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Osteria Tarantino also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Osteria Tarantino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.