We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best home made pasta ever!”
Review of Osteria Tarantino

Osteria Tarantino
Ranked #8 of 1 194 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 120 - R 320
Description: Authentic Italian family-owned restaurant. Fresh Italian dishes by Chef Enrico Tarantino. Bookings essential via phone, WhatsApp or SMS. No email bookings.
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Italian family-owned restaurant. Fresh Italian dishes by Chef Enrico Tarantino. Bookings essential via phone, WhatsApp or SMS. No email bookings.
Reviewed 16 September 2023

Just love the owner, chef and waiter, a little gem of a restaurant, but book to avoid dissapoint, as they specialize with the best service and food and only cater for a few tables. I have not tasted this good pasta even in Italy. I will most certainly be back.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank 914chanelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2023

Osteria Tarantino is absolutely brilliant -- a tiny hidden gem away from the tourist trail (only a brief cab ride away and well worth the 5 minutes it takes to get there), with food that is to die for. We have traveled extensively around the world and spend most of our time in the US and South Africa, with a good bit of time in Europe, including Italy. We came here two nights in a row we liked it so much. It's a small dining room with very few tables so must reserve in advance. We loved the unpretentious service, with many dishes arriving in the saute pans they were cooked in. I highly recommend the following dishes: tuscan cigars, burrata veg, artichokes with gorgonzola, Italian salad, 4Ps (pappardelle, pancetta, porcini, parmesan), gnocchi gorgonzola, veal meatballs, veal saltimbocca, ravioli in truffle cream sauce, tagliatelle bolognese. I only missed having a piece of bread to mop up the sauces with. If you have any room left, the frozen chocolate truffle is our top choice of the desserts although the tiramisu and the ferrero rocher ice cream are close second choices. Don't hesitate, just go!

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2023

Without a doubt the best, most authentic Italian in CT.
It gets better year on year.
Pure Magic!
My best, most worthwhile, meal out in ages, and with lots of competition in this city that says alot!

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue-Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023

Went for a late evening meal - table fro two, we were lucky to squeeze in but Enrico and the team were very accommodating. Wonderful, hearty Italian food, super fresh and generous portions. The ravioli was delicious! The staff were so friendly and warm, it was a really authentic experience in a great setting, the team made us feel so welcome and had great recommendations. Would definitely go again!

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lauray272
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2023 via mobile

The pasta was as fresh as could be and hand made by the restaurant! Salads fresh and delicious. Some great wine was recommended and we ended up with two bottles!

Very reasonable pricing and great presentation. Ambiance was comforting with the fire place keeping us toasty on a cool night!

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank Scottydog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Osteria Tarantino also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Osteria Tarantino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.