We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pasta and ambience”
Review of Osteria Tarantino

Osteria Tarantino
Ranked #7 of 1 297 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Authentic Italian Family Run Restaurant situated in the De Waterkant area of Cape Town. Italian dishes freshly made. Bookings are essential via cell no +27 76 05 1771 direct, what's up and sms. Please note No email bookings. We are closed on Sunday. Grazie.
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic Italian Family Run Restaurant situated in the De Waterkant area of Cape Town. Italian dishes freshly made. Bookings are essential via cell no +27 76 05 1771 direct, what's up and sms. Please note No email bookings. We are closed on Sunday. Grazie.
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The restaurant is nice and cozy, only a few tables. The experience was great from the beginning, since we called to book the table the waitress was very nice and friendly. Once we arrived she went through the whole menu for us and did some great recommendations. The home made pasta was superb.
My only recommendation is that the waiter doesn't play that much with the volume of the music, it was a great evening but that could be a little disruptive.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank pjguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

This is a small charming family run restaurant. Booking is essential. Our waiter Michele was a real character. We laughed from beginning to end. His stepfather, Enrico, is the owner and chef of the restaurant. Enrico’s food is superb!! He is such a lovely warm host. We thoroughly enjoyed our fun as well as very delicious evening at Osteria Tarantino and we will back ASAP!!

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank Hotels201511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Enrico Tarantino serves up genuine home cooked Italian food in a simple homespun trattoria ; raw pine tables, family members as waiters, everything cooked to order - the pasta is home prepared, the accompaniments come from genuine Italian delicatessens and the fresh mozzarella is to die for. Nowhere can you find better quality of mozzarella in the whole ofCape Town.

It is not fine dining - it is just good honest, genuine home cooked Italian food. We have been several times and have never been disappointed. If you are looking for genuine Italian , do yourselves a favour and try it.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank petters7270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Small family run establishment, with hands on attention to detail. Authentic Italian deliciousness. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank julespCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

True Italian family Restaurant with daily specials, seasonal produce and a charismatic host. A true hidden gem!

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank DionisiaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Tarantino also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Osteria Tarantino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing