We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
HIExpress.com
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/26
Reserve now, pay at stay
US$83
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/25
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$83
Booking.comUS$84
getaroom.comUS$88
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 020)
Filter reviews
1 020 results
Traveller rating
292
542
153
27
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
292
542
153
27
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st georges mall stayed here for nights after dark rooms are comfortable comfortable stay south africa taxis uber
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1 020 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2019 via mobile

This hotel is so centrally located that it is literally minutes away from restaurants, bars and shopping malls in the core downtown of Cape Town.
They serve excellent breakfast with a lot of choices and the staff are very polite and friendly.
Rooms are comfortable.
We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Cape Town.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 980sunilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2019

Dear 980sunilb
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel, I am so pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the complimentary Express Start Breakfast. Your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful city in the near future.
Thanks and Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2019

We booked 3 nights in this hotel because it is in the city centre at St Georges Mall, a pedestrian area, which is perfect. And Holiday Inn is Holiday Inn, not exceptionally good and not bad either. Rooms are okay, the bed was rather small for 2 persons but good and the bathroom was clean. We additionally booked breakfast but as there is a Wimpy next to the hotel we rather would have had our breakfast there (the Brekkies). It was a little bit disappointing (choice, quality) and the staff could have been friendlier.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank aalpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2019

Dear aalpol
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel and I am pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited your requirements. As a Holiday Inn EXPRESS our Express Start breakfast buffet is complimentary and I am saddened to read that it did not meet your expectations.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2019

Spend 3 days in a dream, the hotel was so nice, staff were so friendly offering help around the clock for any thing we asked
Dining room for breakfast was light and delicate,
room was very clean and set, was only for water bottles challenge Re the water issue in South Africa but was fine
really enjoyed the trace and street quite @ day and night,
I really enjoyed the stay, can't wait to go back

Room tip: Upper floors are more nice
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Y6415MZnancyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2019

Dear Y6415MZnancyh
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Thank you for choosing IHG
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2019

The hotel is at the very heart of the city. Walking distance from Long Street is a great feature of this hotel. However, there is no room service and that doesn't add up to the cost. Staff is pretty helpful at the reception. The rooms are pretty small.

Room tip: There is no great view..
Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Picklerick1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2019

Dear Picklerick1401
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. My apologies that the hotel did not meet your expectations, as a Holiday Inn Express we do not offer room service however we do have a call and collect service with a number of restaurants within walking distance to the hotel for lunch and dinner as we are a bed and breakfast.
Your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2019 via mobile

This is not a Five Star hotel but is conveniently located in the city centre and offers comfortable rooms for a reasonable price.

The rooms were clean but we missed the King Size bed in our room. The toiletries were basic but sufficient and towels were enough.

Early in the morning there was loud music from a nearby building and probably the hotel should install sound proof windows.

The lobby is small and so is the reception. Check-in and check-out was smooth with friendly staff.

For its rates, the hotel is good. It was fully booked on the night we spent there.

Munir D.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank munird2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Dear munird2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel. I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your kind comments relating to the friendly staff is much appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews