We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #48 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

fairly standard holiday inn in a very good location on a tree lined pedestrian street called st George's mall. near the parliament building and company gardens. rooms decent size - we could see table mountain from ours. security in the city not so good, this is one time to use the hotel safe.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoemaker_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear shoemaker_10
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that you found the location to be good. As we are a Holiday Inn Express I am pleased to read that you rate us in the same line a the 4 star Holiday Inn.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Central to all the older attractions in the middle of Cape Town CBD , Enjoyable stay , tourists make use of this hotel , great breakfast and the best is the friendly and efficient staff members . Certain rooms could be noisy . Parking - have to give your keys to attendant that will park your car @ R 60 per day additional andif you want to get your car again he will get it for you again .

Room Tip: Ask when booking your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank riaan_cloete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear riaan_cloete
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again upon your return to Cape Town
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with my family over Christmas. The reception is on the first floor, but the entrance to the hotel has been recently refurbished, and looks very smart. The rooms are of a higher standard than other HIE hotels I've stayed in. Clean and fit for purpose.
The breakfast is also much better, with a wide range of hot and cold items, and the variety of hot drinks is on par with many 5☆ hotels.
Staff were charming and always ready to help.
Try and get a room as high as possible, as the streets below can be a bit noisy.
There is a valet parking service, charged at a reasonable R60 per 24h.
Excellent and highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank zzuber2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear zzuber2015
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel and I am so pleased to read that you found the standard to be of a higher standard than other Holiday Inn Express hotels. Your kind comments relating to the team is much appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived New Years Day after a couple of long flights from Scotland and it was nice to be welcomed by such nice reception staff.
Rooms are perfectly adequate but suffer from lack of storage space for clothes for a 3 day stay. Good wifi & comfy bed
Location is great right in the middle of CBD , close to Long Street with its bars & restaurants
Buffet breakfasts were average. Plenty to choose from but some dishes lukewarm. However, great value when included within the room price.
Happily stay again

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank NijelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear NijelS
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. We value all feedback that we receive and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Many thanks for your kind comments relating to the staff - this will be shared with the entire team.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyable stay at this fine hotel. Very central and fine big rooms. Wifi was fantastic (rare in SA) Breakfast was good and plentiful and drinks at the bar were reasonably priced for a hotel. Staff at reception could not do enough for us, even had food from the Italian across the street delivered to the room. Would stay again if and when I return to this amazing city.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank IrishPaddyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear IrishPaddyK
Thank you so much for the outstanding review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that the facilities and offerings met your requirements and that you found the complimentary WiFi offering to be fantastic. We have upgraded to fiber optics which is providing a much better experience for our valued guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful city when you return to Cape Town.
Kind regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 112 in Cape Town Central
913 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
402 reviews
Cape Diamond Hotel
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 128 - R 1 860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing