We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveller rating
262
501
142
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
501
142
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long street pedestrian mall hi express george's mall central location per day budget hotel green market square greenmarket square walking distance company gardens stayed at this hotel for nights table mountain double bed breakfast buffet rooms are small hop on hop off bus
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 934 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Central to all the older attractions in the middle of Cape Town CBD , Enjoyable stay , tourists make use of this hotel , great breakfast and the best is the friendly and efficient staff members . Certain rooms could be noisy . Parking - have to give your keys to attendant that will park your car @ R 60 per day additional andif you want to get your car again he will get it for you again .

Room tip: Ask when booking your room
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank riaan_cloete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear riaan_cloete
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again upon your return to Cape Town
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed with my family over Christmas. The reception is on the first floor, but the entrance to the hotel has been recently refurbished, and looks very smart. The rooms are of a higher standard than other HIE hotels I've stayed in. Clean and fit for purpose.
The breakfast is also much better, with a wide range of hot and cold items, and the variety of hot drinks is on par with many 5☆ hotels.
Staff were charming and always ready to help.
Try and get a room as high as possible, as the streets below can be a bit noisy.
There is a valet parking service, charged at a reasonable R60 per 24h.
Excellent and highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank zzuber2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear zzuber2015
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel and I am so pleased to read that you found the standard to be of a higher standard than other Holiday Inn Express hotels. Your kind comments relating to the team is much appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Arrived New Years Day after a couple of long flights from Scotland and it was nice to be welcomed by such nice reception staff.
Rooms are perfectly adequate but suffer from lack of storage space for clothes for a 3 day stay. Good wifi & comfy bed
Location is great right in the middle of CBD , close to Long Street with its bars & restaurants
Buffet breakfasts were average. Plenty to choose from but some dishes lukewarm. However, great value when included within the room price.
Happily stay again

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NijelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear NijelS
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. We value all feedback that we receive and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Many thanks for your kind comments relating to the staff - this will be shared with the entire team.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyable stay at this fine hotel. Very central and fine big rooms. Wifi was fantastic (rare in SA) Breakfast was good and plentiful and drinks at the bar were reasonably priced for a hotel. Staff at reception could not do enough for us, even had food from the Italian across the street delivered to the room. Would stay again if and when I return to this amazing city.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank IrishPaddyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear IrishPaddyK
Thank you so much for the outstanding review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that the facilities and offerings met your requirements and that you found the complimentary WiFi offering to be fantastic. We have upgraded to fiber optics which is providing a much better experience for our valued guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful city when you return to Cape Town.
Kind regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at the hotel which is centrally located near the Greenmarket/Loop Street. The hotel ticks all the boxes. The staff are friendly, professional and eager to please. The rooms are comfortable amd spotlessly clean, however there is little storage space, the beds are simple doubles - no giant king size here - and there is no mini bar. Breakfast is included within the room rate, it is buffet style with lots of options of cereals, breads, fruits and hot items. No dinner facility exists but you are surrounded by nice restaurants and the Waterfront is a 20 minute stroll away or R50 by taxi. We would definitely stay again. Thank you IHG.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bib B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Bib B
Thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel and I am so pleased to read that the hotel met your expectations. We value all guest feedback and welcome such positive reviews as it further re-enforces our staff effort to ensure a seamless stay.
Thank you for choosing IHG and I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews