We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveller rating
250
493
141
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
493
141
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetpedestrian mallhi expressgeorge's mallcentral locationper daygreen market squaregreenmarket squarecompany gardenswalking distancestayed at this hotel for nightstable mountainnight lifebreakfast buffetdouble bedrooms are smallbusiness hotel
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 913 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at the hotel which is centrally located near the Greenmarket/Loop Street. The hotel ticks all the boxes. The staff are friendly, professional and eager to please. The rooms are comfortable amd spotlessly clean, however there is little storage space, the beds are simple doubles - no giant king size here - and there is no mini bar. Breakfast is included within the room rate, it is buffet style with lots of options of cereals, breads, fruits and hot items. No dinner facility exists but you are surrounded by nice restaurants and the Waterfront is a 20 minute stroll away or R50 by taxi. We would definitely stay again. Thank you IHG.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bib B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Bib B
Thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel and I am so pleased to read that the hotel met your expectations. We value all guest feedback and welcome such positive reviews as it further re-enforces our staff effort to ensure a seamless stay.
Thank you for choosing IHG and I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

the location could not be any more perfect its a nice comfortable cosy business hotel the service and attention could be a bit better but i am sure the festive season is not the best time for personalized service

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamsaySh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear RamsaySh
Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.
I am pleased to read that the location and facilities of the hotel met your requirements. My apologies for the lack of personalized service but as you have mentioned we run extremely high occupancies over this period.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again so that you may experience the level of service that we are so well known for.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

The location is very good, it is 2 minutes walking from the green market, surrounded by coffee shops, restaurants and many other shops.
Staff are so friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is very basic yet delicious and varied.
rooms are clean, comfortable and sufficient
I recommend this hotel!

Stayed: December 2017
Thank danaabuzahra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear danaabuzahra1
Thank you so much for the recommendation of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that the location suited your requirements and that you enjoyed the complimentary Express start breakfast.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We stayed here for three nights upon arrival in South Africa. The hotel has its own shuttle service which we used to go to Table Mountain and back to the airport to pick up our rental car.
Staff are very friendly and helpful in making reservations or advising you where to go. The area itself we found pretty safe, even in the evening.
Rooms were clean and breakfast in the morning was good. The hotel didn't have a restaurant, but there are plenty of places in the neighbourhood to go to. And there's a bar in the hotel if you fancy a drink in the afternoon / evening.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Belagonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Belagonda
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that the location of the hotel and the facilities met your requirements. Your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

This hotel is certainly one of the best for anyone on business in Cape Town. It is centrally located with most of the places of business interests situated at stone's throw. We booked for 4 nights but unfortunately stayed there for only 1 night as we expected bigger rooms and the hotel room we got was really small with no mini bar. We were not really impressed with the hotel mostly because we were on our honeymoon and were looking for some luxury and privacy.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiteshChowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hi JiteshChowdhury,

Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate the convenience of our location for business. However, I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with our room accommodation. We always aim to provide an exceptional stay for all of our guests that is why I regret to see that you did not have a great experience. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our management team to properly address your concerns.

Again, thank you for the review and for staying with us. I hope that we would have another chance to accommodate you again in the future.

Regards,

Mike F.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews