We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideally located and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #48 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights upon arrival in South Africa. The hotel has its own shuttle service which we used to go to Table Mountain and back to the airport to pick up our rental car.
Staff are very friendly and helpful in making reservations or advising you where to go. The area itself we found pretty safe, even in the evening.
Rooms were clean and breakfast in the morning was good. The hotel didn't have a restaurant, but there are plenty of places in the neighbourhood to go to. And there's a bar in the hotel if you fancy a drink in the afternoon / evening.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Belagonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Belagonda
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that the location of the hotel and the facilities met your requirements. Your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is certainly one of the best for anyone on business in Cape Town. It is centrally located with most of the places of business interests situated at stone's throw. We booked for 4 nights but unfortunately stayed there for only 1 night as we expected bigger rooms and the hotel room we got was really small with no mini bar. We were not really impressed with the hotel mostly because we were on our honeymoon and were looking for some luxury and privacy.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiteshChowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi JiteshChowdhury,

Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate the convenience of our location for business. However, I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with our room accommodation. We always aim to provide an exceptional stay for all of our guests that is why I regret to see that you did not have a great experience. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our management team to properly address your concerns.

Again, thank you for the review and for staying with us. I hope that we would have another chance to accommodate you again in the future.

Regards,

Mike F.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn express. Location is central with many restaurants and shops in the area and 2 mins walking from Long Street. Breakfast was very good with lots of options, staff were friendly and rooms were clean. We got all we needed with a good budget. We will be staying here again next time we are in Cape Town

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Amna E
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited your requirements and that the complimentary Express start breakfast met your expectations.
Your kind comments relating to the staff being friendly is much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to Cape Town.
Thank you for choosing IHG.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

This was the first stop on our two week trip to South Africa and after an exhausting 36 hours of traveling, we were very pleased to arrive here, quickly, from the airport. Very fast check-in, very friendly and helpful staff. We had an adjoin room with our son and we were very pleased with our rooms. Clean, beds very comfortable, breakfast good, and a great location for just going out and walking in the street. Lots of restaurants right nearby and close to many attractions to see, within walking distance. Very safe for walking around in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pawpals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear pawpals
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel met your expectations.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

Nice clean; tidy Express in the City centre .
Parking very difficult due to location but we did not need.
Rooms ok size.
Breakfast ok and good selection except for sausages which really are SA style. We’re used to English bangers.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Dkkeeling
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am pleased to read that overall the hotel met your requirements. Thank you for your comments relating to the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Please note that we do rotate our sausage offering daily in order to try and accommodate all guests dietary preferences.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
610 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
392 reviews
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#78 of 112 in Cape Town Central
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R983 - R1 843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing