We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$46
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$973
US$950
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveller rating
244
486
137
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
486
137
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetpedestrian mallhi expressst georges mallcentral locationper daybudget hotelgreen market squaregreenmarket squarecompany gardenswalking distancestayed at this hotel for nightsreception staffdouble bedtable mountainnight lifethe breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 896 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017

This was the first stop on our two week trip to South Africa and after an exhausting 36 hours of traveling, we were very pleased to arrive here, quickly, from the airport. Very fast check-in, very friendly and helpful staff. We had an adjoin room with our son and we were very pleased with our rooms. Clean, beds very comfortable, breakfast good, and a great location for just going out and walking in the street. Lots of restaurants right nearby and close to many attractions to see, within walking distance. Very safe for walking around in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pawpals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear pawpals
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel met your expectations.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

Nice clean; tidy Express in the City centre .
Parking very difficult due to location but we did not need.
Rooms ok size.
Breakfast ok and good selection except for sausages which really are SA style. We’re used to English bangers.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Dkkeeling
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am pleased to read that overall the hotel met your requirements. Thank you for your comments relating to the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Please note that we do rotate our sausage offering daily in order to try and accommodate all guests dietary preferences.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Rooms 7/10
Room facilities 4/10
Cleaniness 10/10
Security 10/10
Near sightseeing pick up point
Breakfast 7/10
Staff 10/10
Tv only 12 channels
Wifi fast available
Located at a congested area
But very cheap n economical

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Zain U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Zain U
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of the Holiday Inn EXPRESS Cape Town City Centre. Your detailed review is much appreciated and I am pleased to read that overall the hotel met your requirements.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Thank you for choosing IHG.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Very good service, courteous staff. Reasonable prices and good value for money.Rooms were always kept clean, and housekeeping staff were very friendly. Good, wide variety of fresh food, and one can easily go to various other restaurants that are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danisas2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear danisas2015
Many thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and your kind comments relating to the service and staff is much appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night at the end of our trip in South Africa.

The positive parts of the hotel is that it was centrally located with parking available for ZAR60 per day. Trust the sat nav when you enter the city, it took us down a pedestrianised road and we thought this was incorrect, but no - the hotel parking is accessed via this. The valet porters were friendly and helpful!

Rooms were modern and clean - the breakfast was more than adequate and of good quality.

Unfortunately the WiFi was poor - no instructions during check in and we only had 100MB of free WiFi which lasted about half an hour! TV signal was also poor as it was raining outside - there were lots of channels available but we couldn’t watch.

Also - no fault of the hotel but our room was on the 4th floor at the front of the building and we were woken early in the morning by street vendors screaming at each other - so bring your earplugs! The bed was also on the small side.

For one night, it fit the purpose but if you are after a base in Cape Town for longer, I would urge you to consider other options.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JBIS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear JBIS27
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete such a detailed review of our hotel. My sincere apologies for the noise that you experienced from the street vendors on the public pedestrian walkway.
I am pleased to advised that we have recently completed a WiFi upgrade to fiber, and our valued guests now receive fast free unlimited WiFi for the duration of their stay.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the complimentary Express Start breakfast.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews