We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great value and great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #48 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Very centrally located, excellent staff and a great all inclusive express breakfast at the hotel. Very pleasant pub on the first floor. Reception and pub staff were very good and pleasant. Rooms were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear Jenny I
Many thanks for the wonderful review. I am so pleased to read that you found the staff to be excellent and the rooms very comfortable.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 129 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed being at this hotel! The staff was very friendly and anything I needed they accommodated. It's really in the center of everything so most of the things we wanted to do were close. The bed was a little harder than expected but otherwise everyone was really nice. I also really enjoyed breakfast. It was real breakfast with all sorts of foods. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank adihsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear adihsar
Many thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased to read that you really enjoyed being at the hotel. Many thanks for the recommendation of our hotel, we look forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We have stayed there quite a few times, often having to leave early the next morning. The staff was always friendly and super helpful, allowing us to enter the dining room and getting our breakfast before we start our day. Exactly what you'd want from an Express hotel.
- Correction: September 2015

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcha96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a week.
Breakfast was excellent and contains everythings.
The room was clean and tidy all of our saty. The staff was very nice and helpful everybody, espacially Esther, at the reception that did above and beyond for us with a smile and a lought all the time!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank becky g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Dear becky g
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent weeks stay. Your kind comments relating to the staff, with special mention of Esther, is greatly appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful city in the near future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I was highly disappointed the rooms are really basic and the shower scared me I felt the room and bathroom was not the cleanest.

There were no blankets in the room and it was chilly.

Breakfast is basic.

Staff did not explain properly the terms of our stay that was hooked through work. We had drama we have never had issues with our company before but hotel kept blaming the company.

The parking spaces are so small.

Location might be ok but I think there are far better hotels in Cape Town in the same budget that offer far better.

Both my colleague and I did not enjoy our stay or think that the hotel was impressive in any manner.

It's very basic but for my basic to the point of I wish I was at home, towels look old and are really small bath size is like hand towel.

The fact that is no throw or at least a blanket as the weather changes so fast. Many people at breakfast complained that there were no blankets available.
Wifi super slow the 100mb free not worth it.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Meshendri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear Meshendri P
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I am so sorry for all the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us.
As a 3-star limited service hotel, the Intercontinental Hotels Group has certain standards and requirements for each brand (i.e. Holiday Inn Express / Holiday Inn / Crown Plaza, etc.). Designed for the smart traveller, Holiday Inn Express means clean, consistent, and comfortable rooms wherever you go. It’s everything you need in a hotel and nothing you don’t. We do have blankets that are available upon request from the front desk. All of our rooms have percale cotton linen, duvets and individually controlled air conditioning units for heating or cooling the room.
The 100mb free Wifi per device per day is available for all our guests however if you sign up as one of our IHG Rewards Club members you will receive free unlimited WiFi throughout your stay. Membership to IHG Rewards Club is completely free.
Once again, my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences that you experienced, we certainly pride ourselves on the fantastic service that we are known for and I apologise that you did not experience this during your stay with us.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 406 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
914 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 112 in Cape Town Central
402 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#50 of 112 in Cape Town Central
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 126 - R 1 889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing