We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$235
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Urban Hive Backpackers(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$21
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
249
492
139
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
492
139
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetpedestrian mallhi expressst georges mallcentral locationper daygreen market squaregreenmarket squarecompany gardenswalking distancereception staffstayed at this hotel for nightstable mountainnight lifebreakfast buffetdouble bedrooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed being at this hotel! The staff was very friendly and anything I needed they accommodated. It's really in the center of everything so most of the things we wanted to do were close. The bed was a little harder than expected but otherwise everyone was really nice. I also really enjoyed breakfast. It was real breakfast with all sorts of foods. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank adihsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear adihsar
Many thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased to read that you really enjoyed being at the hotel. Many thanks for the recommendation of our hotel, we look forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We have stayed there quite a few times, often having to leave early the next morning. The staff was always friendly and super helpful, allowing us to enter the dining room and getting our breakfast before we start our day. Exactly what you'd want from an Express hotel.
- Correction: September 2015

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcha96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a week.
Breakfast was excellent and contains everythings.
The room was clean and tidy all of our saty. The staff was very nice and helpful everybody, espacially Esther, at the reception that did above and beyond for us with a smile and a lought all the time!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank becky g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Dear becky g
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent weeks stay. Your kind comments relating to the staff, with special mention of Esther, is greatly appreciated.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful city in the near future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I was highly disappointed the rooms are really basic and the shower scared me I felt the room and bathroom was not the cleanest.

There were no blankets in the room and it was chilly.

Breakfast is basic.

Staff did not explain properly the terms of our stay that was hooked through work. We had drama we have never had issues with our company before but hotel kept blaming the company.

The parking spaces are so small.

Location might be ok but I think there are far better hotels in Cape Town in the same budget that offer far better.

Both my colleague and I did not enjoy our stay or think that the hotel was impressive in any manner.

It's very basic but for my basic to the point of I wish I was at home, towels look old and are really small bath size is like hand towel.

The fact that is no throw or at least a blanket as the weather changes so fast. Many people at breakfast complained that there were no blankets available.
Wifi super slow the 100mb free not worth it.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Meshendri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear Meshendri P
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I am so sorry for all the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us.
As a 3-star limited service hotel, the Intercontinental Hotels Group has certain standards and requirements for each brand (i.e. Holiday Inn Express / Holiday Inn / Crown Plaza, etc.). Designed for the smart traveller, Holiday Inn Express means clean, consistent, and comfortable rooms wherever you go. It’s everything you need in a hotel and nothing you don’t. We do have blankets that are available upon request from the front desk. All of our rooms have percale cotton linen, duvets and individually controlled air conditioning units for heating or cooling the room.
The 100mb free Wifi per device per day is available for all our guests however if you sign up as one of our IHG Rewards Club members you will receive free unlimited WiFi throughout your stay. Membership to IHG Rewards Club is completely free.
Once again, my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences that you experienced, we certainly pride ourselves on the fantastic service that we are known for and I apologise that you did not experience this during your stay with us.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We love this hotel and have stayed there on more than one occasion. The rooms are comfortable and some have spectacular views. The hotel offers great buffet breakfasts and has a full bar. It is centrally located and within walking distance of Green Market Square and many other tourist attractions.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Carmin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear Carmin2014
Many thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that as a return guest you continue to enjoy your stays with us and find the hotel offering meets your requirements.
We do look forward to being of service to you again in the future upon your return to Cape Town.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews