We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Wine and Entrees”
Review of Villa 47

Villa 47
Ranked #47 of 1 194 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: R 350 - R 450
Description: A new culinary concept celebrating Italian cuisine and showcasing authentic ingredients within 3 unique restaurant environments. Locanda, on the ground floor, is a relaxed Italian bistro where guests can experience regional speciality dishes prepared authentically. The first floor, is a cosy setting which is perfect for a romantic night in the city. This area is also available for exclusive hire to larger group bookings. There is also the courtyard which offers a lavish lounging area where guests are able to unwind with a cocktail and enjoy one of our carefully crafted antipasto platters. This space is also open to private functions and is perfect for a laid-back cocktail evening with a diverse canape menu to keep all your guests happy.
Restaurant details
Description: A new culinary concept celebrating Italian cuisine and showcasing authentic ingredients within 3 unique restaurant environments. Locanda, on the ground floor, is a relaxed Italian bistro where guests can experience regional speciality dishes prepared authentically. The first floor, is a cosy setting which is perfect for a romantic night in the city. This area is also available for exclusive hire to larger group bookings. There is also the courtyard which offers a lavish lounging area where guests are able to unwind with a cocktail and enjoy one of our carefully crafted antipasto platters. This space is also open to private functions and is perfect for a laid-back cocktail evening with a diverse canape menu to keep all your guests happy.
Reviewed 27 February 2024 via mobile

We chose Villa 47 for our first meal in Cape Town. In was in a nice area.

Our first table was near screeching children so we asked to be moved. They were very nice about it and gave us a different t table right away. We had a nice bottle of wine recommended by a knowledgeable, person, he was either an owner or a manager.

We had delicious pasta, tortellini and risotto. Portions were generous and filling so we skipped dessert. The table next to us had what looked like really good desserts.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2023

One of the best restaurants in Cape Town.

Pasta "al dente", with nice sauces.

Real Italian food.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2023 via mobile

We were so excited to try Villa 47 as we’ve driven past so many times and always looks so inviting
We invited another couple along and off we went
The service was very good
We were seated next to the kitchen so it was quite noisy
The wine selection was good so was the menu which is quite varied but small
Sadly the food let them down
Very average pasta dishes and deserts.
Won’t be back

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Gillgoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2023

The noise was so awful and the chairs terribly uncomfortable that we could not stay.

Shame as I heard it was good.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank cordeliapennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

We had a small family gathering & we choose this restaurant, an absolutely unknown venue.

Well what a pleasant surprise, as you walk into this venue you are greeted by such friendly staff.

The ambiance of this restaurant is something to experience it's Italy in Cape Town.

The interior is on point & it just works so well. It give you that fuzzy welcome feeling, well done guys.

We placed our orders & were blown away by the presentation & taste. I had the pork belly & loved ever morsal.
Loved the menu will be back to try other dishes.

If you are in Cape Town looking for authentic Italian cooking, this is your place.

To the management and staff thank you for a great experience & for providing an exquisite Locanda.

Kind regards

Ferdie Liebenberg

Date of visit: October 2023
1  Thank Ferdie_Liebenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Villa 47 also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Villa 47? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.