We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second visit , not as good as the first”
Review of Villa 47

Villa 47
Ranked #76 of 1 299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Description: A new culinary concept celebrating Mediterranean and Asian cuisine and showcasing authentic ingredients within 3 unique restaurant environments. Locanda is a relaxed Italian bistro where guests can experience regional speciality dishes prepared by our Italian Chef, Vittorio under the leadership of head Chef, Clayton Bell. Stuzzico, on the first floor, is a vibey tapas bar that brings you innovative flavour creations inspired by the Mediterranean and Asia in an ever-evolving menu. Stuzzico is a warm and moody environment that comes alive in the evening.
Restaurant details
Description: A new culinary concept celebrating Mediterranean and Asian cuisine and showcasing authentic ingredients within 3 unique restaurant environments. Locanda is a relaxed Italian bistro where guests can experience regional speciality dishes prepared by our Italian Chef, Vittorio under the leadership of head Chef, Clayton Bell. Stuzzico, on the first floor, is a vibey tapas bar that brings you innovative flavour creations inspired by the Mediterranean and Asia in an ever-evolving menu. Stuzzico is a warm and moody environment that comes alive in the evening.
Reviewed 25 April 2017

the octopus carpaccio excellent, the rigatoni with mussels so and so , the saltimbocca very disappointing, the fritto misto excellent . we found some unevenness . it took over 1 hour between states and main, and the restaurant was not full . hopefully it is not the sign of complacency or start of a decline

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nicolass208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We visited Locando (the ground floor restaurant) for a celebration meal after the Two Oceans Half Marathon. Wow!

The bread basket they bring is delicious, with a variety of fresh breads.

For starters we shared the Caprese Salad plate and a trio of meats - all quality ingredients.

We had a variety of mains - I had a simple tomato pasta and it was very tasty. The risotto (pancetta and pea on the night) was the best I've ever tasted. The veal was delicious, as was the bearnaise steak.

For desserts we tried a variety of things, including the panna cotta, Cannoli, and tiramisu - all lovely as well.

Service was top-notch; friendly and efficient. It never felt rushed but was incredibly fast.

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank MeganH3137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Locanda is the ground floor Italian restaurant. Prepare to be wowed, from the menu to the cocktails and wine list. The staff are very knowledgeable and will make your dinner memorable. Must book!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Ayesha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Went here for lunch on Saturday, we booked and recommend you do, it was busy. We had ravioli and girasoli which was a special of the day, both divine pasta dishes. Portions perfectly sized. Location and atmosphere are great. Our waiter was really nice, explained specials and gave faultless service. Will go again.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank elsie_ct12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

If you like Italian then you will love this place. Viby, food great, good wine list. Had a Pata negra (ok not Italian) starter that was superb! Pasta main was excellent but I think they are known for their risotto which my partner had which was delicious!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KKQ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa 47 also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Villa 47? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing